Looking for help now with upkeep of my beautiful home in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountain, Spain



Favourited 89 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  • Description


    Hello, I am looking for people who like painting right now!
    I am Penny, an English woman now enjoying living in the sun in the south of Spain. The house is in the Seirra Nevada, a great area for rock climbing enthusiasts, local climbing areas are Las minas, Orgiva and The gorge of Velez de Benedualla
    I am restoring my home, it is a lovely old, traditional, two storey village house with mature grape vines, a huge roof terrace for evening dining and a garden which was very neglected. So far, with the help of Workawayers, the garden has been lovingly restored. Now there is maintenance and upkeep to do. The Garden now has a veggie bed, a swimming small pool and a big old olive tree with hammocks! thank you Workaway!

    This place is suitable for couples and independent singles who want to explore the area. Volunteers have their own self- contained apartment with shower/toilet and separate entrance. Work is in the mornings because afternoon is often too warm
    Please note, I normally only take volunteers for a week. Occasionally, I can arrange a longer stay

    The house is nestled in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains in an area called the Alpujarra where the old ways of doing things such as farm pressing olive oil and goat keeping still go on. In the evening you will hear the music of 100's of goat bells as the goatherd drives the goats by!! In addition there is a big organic growing movement in the area.

    Personally I enjoy gardening, singing, dancing, circus arts, painting and drawing, dressing up and theatrics! I also like playing Scrabble.
    I am a family person so I enjoy having people around me and cooking for people. I have 3 grownup daughters living in different countries and 3 small grandchildren, I love sharing the laid back Spanish lifestyle with my family when they visit.
    This stay is NOT SUITABLE FOR PEOPLE WITH CAT ALLERGIES! I have three beautiful cats who love to spend time with you, so if you are cool with cats, this is for you!
    House rule - no social networking in the social spaces. Its private, go to your room! - internet works fine in there!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Orgiva is near a small town with a big artistic community. There is plenty of opportunity to see and participate in cultural events and arty happenings. Our area is also known as an Alternative area with many experimental land-based lifestyles. It is a multicultural community with people from all over the world. The local high school is bilingual, English and Spanish. Thursday is market morning and everyone comes into town to sell, buy or just to chat and you will hear many languages being spoken.

  • Help


    .The garden needs, weeding and watering. The house needs repainting. There are traditional wooden windows with shutters, they all need sanding and repainting. The walls also need repainting inside and out so there is work for all weathers. If you can wield a brush, this volunteer opportunity is for you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish. French

  • Accommodation


    The suite for volunteers is self contained and quite private. It has a separate entrance and en-suite bathroom. There is also a kitchen and living room for volunteers so if you prefer, you can make some of your own meals, I will provide food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 10 minutes walk from town so its easy to get what you need. In addition, buses service our town to take you anywhere in Southern Spain.
    With stunning scenery and many walking routes called 'senderos'. the area is a mecca for walkers. There are many walks. The is horse trekking also.
    If you like rock climbing, this is the place for you with hundreds of marked routes.
    Buses are super cheap and a good way to go sight seeing. Granada is one hour away by bus to see the famous Alhambra and costs 5e each way, You can take a local bus to the quaint mountain villages of Bubion, Capilera and Pampaniera for mountain walking. Its 1.16e each way and the views from the bus are spectacular - just don't look down!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 315956267725