Help with dog-sitting and around the house for an unschooling family in Waihi, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live off grid in a beautiful slice of paradise and invite you to join us for a while. We are looking for someone to help out with a variety of tasks. We are surrounded by forest and a river runs through it too.

    Food prep and tidy up is shared. We will be doing lots of skill sharing and keen to talk all things sustainable housing/ off grid/ solar power/ micro hydro/ self-sufficiency.

    There are two Yurts on the site and we have recently built a big earth deck (covered over)

    Rowan and Bx have worked on organic farms for years and look forward to firing up our winter garden. Rowan has been an earth builder and market garden chap. We have been accused of being hippies.

    Sorry but we don't want regular cigarette smokers as helpers.

    None of our younger children go to school. We are all life learning together and keen to share this radical, alternative view of curriculum-free education with any interested volunteers.

    We have lots of forest walks and long hikes in the neighbouring Conservation land from our back gate. We have a beautiful river running through our place with cool swimming spots. We are 20 min drive from learner surf beach, 40 minutes from amazing surf beaches.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to live lightly on the land. We unschool and there are 4 kids at our place. We live off grid...

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we need a dog sitter and some help around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Little insulated cabin or our place if we are away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can walk off our place straight into doc land. You can kayak on the river. We are a short drive to the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 295627412193