Farmlife in Valais/Wallis, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 315 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1150

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Daniel & Jacqueline live in the French part of Valais in Switzerland and we love to host and to meet new friends.

    Daniel, the farmer takes care to chicken, rabbits, horses, some sheep and two cats. In fall we produce apple juice and grape juice. We have a vegetable garden. We do always some renovations in our old house from 1920 with three independents floors with a beautiful view to our town Sierre, the valley and to the mountains. Daniel & Jacqueline are a married couple with five now independent children (between 21 and 30 years).

    Daniel is France, now Swiss and you will mostly help with him outdoor on the farm. He loves to share his multiples skills and knowledges about agriculture and nature. Daniel does few landscaping for clients. Monday he works as a socio-professional master for a institution as a gardener with mentally handicapped persons. (Only Daniel is a smoker and he does not smoke inside)

    Jacqueline is not often at home, because she works 100 % (Monday until Friday) with refuges peoples. She is from the german part of Switzerland (Oberwallis).

    We speak french, german and some englisch.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak french at home. Daniel mother languages is french and Jacqueline mother language is german.

    You can practice and perfect your french with us or with Jacqueline german during the weekend .

    You can learn from Daniel a lot about agriculture, nature, plants, animals and the simple way of life in the Swiss mountains. He doesn't know who to use a computer, but he is incredible, he love to share his big knowledge/many skills.

  • Help

    Help

    You will help us on the farm (the tasks are different all throughout the year and depends of the season) and in the house (housekeeping and cooking).

    If you want to come for a stay, we are looking forward to host folks who love to help outdoor and who are motivated and interesting for agriculture (hard and sometime difficult) work. Would you love to learn more about Swiss farm life?

    We ask you to have good shoes (like hiking or trekking shoes - not sneaker) for a good security at work.
    IMPORTANT: You should have your own personal health insurance in case of accident and sickness.

    We do not host people for less than 3 weeks.

    Saturday and Sunday you are always off for exploring our nice area and during your free time during the week. It os difficult to us, to give you an exact schedule when you are off and when you help us. In agriculture, the weather influence a lot the seasonal work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, german, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can host a couple or one person (men or women) and offer you a nice bedroom (for a couple or for one person), new accommodation with a two year old baths-room with separate shower and bathtub and good healthy food. On this floor, is even a new small kitchen to use, if you want. :-) We made recently some renovation on this floor with a big balcony and a beautiful view.

    We do not eat meat every days. Vegetarian are welcome too. ;-) During the week, we eat breakfast at 7 am and lunch at 12:30 pm. After lunch there is always enough time to reste for a big siesta.

    Our big kitchen (see pics) is available to be used by our host. The weekend I (Jacqueline) loves to sleep longly (morning), so if you like to get up early, you can use the small kitchen on your floor (upstairs) for breakfast or simple meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love volunteers with a open-mind, who are flexible and independent and who are willing to work and to share our simple way of life.

    You will have many opportunities to walk, to hike and to visit others places by train or by bus, like Montreux, Sion, Crans-Montana, Zermatt, Lausanne, Bern, ... We love our beautiful area and we would enjoy to give you advice for visits and places to see.

    Sierre is a nice town with a little lake and with many cultural activities (free concerts in summer, art-exhibitions, ...) We love to give you ideas for nice visits to do in our area. We do not organize your free time, but we will give you advices.

    It is very easy to come by public transport. Ask us and we will give you all the informations you need to find our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    30 - 40 hours

Our 30 year marriage anniversery (march 2018)
Some vegetable (summer 2015)
Our family (Summer 2015)
Bag in Box with apple juice
La press du jus - Pressing juice
The kitchen
Rabbits
The sheep - we have no more so much sheep (2015)
Repas de famille - Family diner
The horses
Visiting Zermatt (2013) and the Cervin/Matterhorn
Our house in Darnona
View to Sierre



Host ref number: 292778188368