new host  

Help with some gardening and odd jobs in Merton, VIC, Australia

  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 9 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I have a small 20 acre farm on top of a hill which has heavenly views. I am only at the farm mid week and live in Melbourne. I have a husband and 3 grown children and this farm is my passion project. I’ve built a rock stone wall and modified the garden to be lower maintenance as living in Melbourne makes it difficult to keep up with maintenance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m at the farm Tues - Thurs where I’d love to interact with the travellers. I have a love of travelling and am very interested in other travellers’ stories. But they would also have a few days on their own in the house which may not suit everyone but might appeal to some. I love cooking, gardening, reading, art and travelling.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly just upkeep of the garden, weeding and mowing but if anyone had carpentry skills, I do need a new deck.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’m learning French and would love to enhance my fluency

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It’s a 3 bedroom 1 bathroom home with a second shower in the laundry. One room is queen and the other has 2 singles (which could be converted to queen. I’m happy to cook for guests when I’m there - and happy for them to help themselves to what’s in cupboard but they would probably need to buy their own food when I’m not there - it would be too difficult to manage otherwise.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area of Merton is between Mansfield and Yea and under 1 hour from Mt Buller which is great for skiing. It’s just under 2 hours from Melbourne with a bus service that leaves nearby.

    There’s no wifi at the property
    Non smoker

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Happy to host these people but we don’t have internet access so they will need to provide their own

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day - can be done whenever they like

Host ref number: 292451567266

Photos

Feedback

Help us towards a self sufficient life near Huonville, Tasmania, Australia
Come and assist us with daily tasks and experience a rural lifestyle in Glenreagh, Australia