Help with daily farm chores and learn more about animals or travel in Canterbury, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three running a water buffalo farm in inland Canterbury near Mt Hutt, we have organic gardens and a couple of horses as well as a forest reserve which has walking tracks in it and we are doing a river way restoration project also.
    There are many walks in the area as well as rivers to swim in and mountain hikes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot to learn here about animals, a chance to ride a horse if you are experienced and to learn about your own food production. As we eat a lot off our land you will lessen your travel footprint as you will actively participate in your own food production.

  • Help

    Help

    What there is to help with will vary due to season and what is happening, calving, planting, maintenance etc.
    We need people to be able to do their share of cooking and house work, there is a garden and tunnel house where you can learn to garden. We need help raising the buffalo calves and there is other work available for people interested in this with replanting native vegetation along the stream banks and maintenance in the native forest reserve, fencing for those who are able.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room of your own above the cheese room, we expect to have shared evening meals but you will need to serve your own breakfast and lunch with plenty of food available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to have people here who are positive and are interested in our life on the farm. We ask visitors not to sit on their mobile phone in our living area as we wish our living area to be a social and relaxing space. The farm has many walks nearby, and w prefer people here who are loving the outdoors and environment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 286873968173