Help with DIY, gardening and dog sitting in a beautiful traditional mountain village on the Greek island of Rhodes

Country

Greece

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Annie, 61 years young, originally from Scotland. I have had an adventurous and colourful life living in various places, including Australia, Jersey in the Channel Islands, and the Lake District in England. I now live on the beautiful Greek Island of Rhodes.
    I came to Rhodes for a two-month stay in the summer of 2018 and fell in love with the beautiful authentic mountain village that I was staying in. I loved it so much that I returned later in 2018 to settle.
    I love the traditional village life, as well as all that Rhodes Island life has to offer.
    Here there is a beautiful balance of traditional Greek culture with values and a way of life that takes one back to times gone by, and life in the village and the food on our tables are dictated by the rhythm of the seasons. At the same time, Rhodes offers a modern and vibrant lifestyle, with a lively tourist industry, and is home to many interesting, creative, and adventurous people from different countries and cultures.
    The 1980's house that I live in has a large garden, with citrus and fruit trees, on the edge of the village square. (The Plateia) which is the hub of village life. A stray hunting dog, Missie, decided to move in with me last year, and she is a bundle of energy and fun. Well, there are two dogs, actually. The second one, Roudie, does have another home. However, he prefers to hang out with us most of the time.
    The house has a fascinating history. It was built by an old lady who had a shop opposite. She designed and furnished it with nothing but the best at the time, but she never lived in it, even although she lived to be 100 years old! Her family lives elsewhere on Rhodes and only ever used it for weekend stays. So no one has ever lived in it full time until now. I rent it from the family fully furnished, and like living in the village, living in the house is like going back in time, in the most delightful way!
    However, the house has never been upgraded, and the garden was utterly overrun when I moved in. With the help of my friends, I have tamed the garden somewhat, and the house is comfortable and pleasant to live in. But there are still a few DIY and gardening works, with a little bit of creative input, that I still need assistance with.
    I would also like to return to the UK for a short trip and would like someone to take good care of the dogs and the garden in my absence.
    In return for assisting me, I can offer an experience of authentic village Greek life, a personal tour of the island, and a fun and genuinely friendly social life.
    I would be looking for someone who has a genuine love of dogs and is a passionate traveler, who wants to learn about the culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an opportunity to immerse oneself in authentic Greek village life. Learn about the traditional ways of living from the land and about Greek culture. It is also a great way to take your time to explore the many attractions, beaches, cultural sites, etc that Rhodes has to offer. The nearest beach is only 10 minutes by car and as we are on the west coast of the island there are a few kite stations nearby. There are also many walking trails and the area is popular with cyclists.

  • Help

    Help

    The main skills required for the projects would be carpentry and gardening and general maintenance skills. As the house I'm renting, I don't want to spend too much money on the projects but rather look at creative ways of fixing and improving what there is, preferably using recycling/upcycling ideas and materials.
    The help would consist of fixing all the kitchen cupboards, drawers, and doors, and making the kitchen more aesthetically appealing, and a few other carpentry works, fixing mosquito screens to windows and doors, decorating the guest bedroom, assistance with high-level tasks, (cleaning light shades, fixing curtain rails, etc), some bathroom maintenance, (grouting, etc) garden maintenance, setting up a watering system, creating shade/privacy areas and some input into ideas and development to make the garden an interesting, rustic and relaxing area. Shared meal preparation would be great.
    Depending on travel restrictions I would like to return to the UK for maybe two weeks, so confident handling and caretaking of the dogs would be required.
    I usually rise early to walk the dogs (around 6 am) and find that during the hot months it is better to do any physical work early in the mornings before it gets too hot, so I envisage working together on projects in the mornings for around 4 or 5 hours and then you can do what you wish with the rest of the day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in my home as a welcome guest, sharing all the public areas including the bathroom and kitchen. The accommodation is a spacious guest room with a double bed and bedroom furniture that is clean and comfortable but requires decorating. Food will be shared and shared cooking would be great. I have good wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The public transport from the village is very limited. Although I will happily take you around I do internet work so I would not always be available, therefore it would be ideal to have your own transport so that you can be independent.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I work from home running my online holiday rentals accommodation site. My internet is stable and there are several areas in the house where a digital nomad could work from.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a free car park nearby

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 273696465225