Help with various projects as part of a house renovation project in Saxony-Anhalt in the middle of Germany

Country

Germany

new host   Last minute

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey Worldfriendly people, open minded people and Backpackers,. I bought an agricultural production cooperative in Saxony-Anhalt in the middle of Germany not far away from Berlin (about 50 minutes by train). It was build in 1908. The house itself was the lodge and school for the trainees of this production. At this particular time there were about 50 trainees living at the same time in this building. It was empty for 30 years. So you can imagine how big it is and how much work there is to do.

    A lot of history has happened in this place and i want to make it a great place as it was before. There is a big saloon where nearly all festivities from this region were celebrated and i want to revive it and make a place for the peole of the region where they can celebrate, dance and have fun like it they did before.

    I´m 28 years old, my girlfriend is 30 years old an our son will be two years old in August.
    I´m a big enthusiast of old buildings and traditional working skills.
    I´m a self-taught person in several building skills and woodworking. ( I have many books about it)
    If you want I can teach you something about it, because i have a blackoard :D.
    I´m half french and half German.
    French workawayers would be nice to improve my 2nd motherlanguage and for my son, too.

    soooo, i hope for nice people to come over to our place and having a good time together.

    I´m so excited!!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As Saxony-Anhalt was part of the German Democratic Republik (DDR) ´til the wall was teared down it´s an economically underdeveloped region of Germany. Perhaps we can bring the culture of many different countries into this region. You can learn something aout the history of the DDR and how the people are living there in the present.
    You can learn that it´s not necessary to have a degree in crafts to rebuild an old house like this.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in nearly every craft that you can imagine, so there will be enough possibilities for you to find something that you would like to do.

    Working in the Garden, helping reparing the roof, rehabilitate the houses and so on.

    Everyone is welcome. There is always something to do and when it´s just playing with my son it´s ok, too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a lot of possibilities for accommodation for you. there are about 14 rooms in the big house and if you want to there is also a lot of place for camping in the garden. We cook everyday fresh and have a big table to sit with a lot of people.

    We prefer to eat together but its no problem if you want to eat alone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to have a party weekend you can go to Berlin by train in 50 minutes. The next bigger city is about 13km away from our place. There is a lake 11km from our place. The river Elbe is not far from our place,too. You can visit many historic city centres in cities nearby. The local traffic is not very good but there is one and if you have time its no problem to get anywhere you want. We have Bicycles and a transport bicycle which can be used. And we have a car to pick you up or get from a to b.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 271929457255