General maintenance and woodwork project help on our beautiful home in Buzet sur Baïse, France

Country

France

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/03/2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We’re a couple, who after living all over the world including Amsterdam, Sydney, Munich and Zürich decided we’d had enough of the corporate treadmill and moved to beautiful SW France. We now both work freelance, Jan as a copywriter and Sonia as an HR and Leadership consultant, and also have a two-bedroom gîte that we rent out for a few weeks in the summer.

    The property we bought which is on an acre of land wedged in between vineyards and farmers fields dates from 1850, and while completely modernised always requires a bit of maintenance. Such as the wooden shutters, for example, of which there are close to 40! And there is always something to do in the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We’re a very international couple (even Marble our cat is Australian), and languages spoken are English, French, German and some Spanish and Dutch... Jan is an accomplished chef and loves to cook with people, so for anyone who likes food and would like to learn some new techniques such as "sous-vide" cooking or curing and hot smoking duck breast for example, we're the perfect choice!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General maintenance such as repairing, re-painting and re-hanging wooden shutters, so diy and carpentry skills would come in handy. Anyone with good gardening skills/knowledge would also find lots to do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is a beautiful room overlooking the vineyards with a small terrace and its own bathroom. Depending on what time of year you are here there is a large pool and summer kitchen to relax in during the warmer months.

    Jan is also an excellent cook so you’ll be able to experience the great food this region has to offer!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots things to do in the area from cycling along the voie verte by the canal to canoeing on the river Baïse, vineyard visits and of course the pretty bastide villages with their markets and festivals.

    A bicycle is always there and a car can be borrowed for longer trips when available. The nearest train station is 10 minutes away and has regular trains to Bordeaux and Toulouse, trips that take a bit over an hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    4G router with up to 65MBS and boosters throughout the property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 271717886325