Looking for hand around family in a small village in a region called Alt Empordà, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five: a couple, a 4 year old girl and 2 baby twin girls. We are both 35 years old and before the girls we lived in other countries for some time. We both work as teachers

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Catalan, Spanish, English and Japanese, if you are interested in practicing or learning different languages. We are both teachers in a high school. And, if you like kids, you will have a lot of fun. We have a Mediterranean lifestyle, if you can say that. We like to eat healthy food; we enjoy cooking and buying fresh fruit and vegetables, as well as fresh fish. We do not have much time now with the girls, but my husband likes mountain biking and he tries to go some mornings and I enjoy any type of dance. We are also involved in the school PTA and we actively participate in the village fair and local activities. Our place tends to be quite lively, with our family and friends visiting on a daily basis.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some help in the house, mainly with clothes, cooking and shopping, and in the garden, which mainly involves mowing the grass . Shopping would be once or twice a week. We could negotiate cooking time, but it would be really helpful to have lunch ready by the time we get home from work. Babysitting would be required just when the girls are sick and cannot attend school or kindergarten. We might need you to take the girls to school some days, which is a 2 minute walk from home. School and kindergarten are in the same building.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a semi-detached house. You would have your own room and you can use all the common areas (kitchen, living room, garden, swimming pool, etc). We have wifi. You can borrow our bikes to go for a ride around the area. Your room has a big wardrobe, a bed, a window facing the garden and we could provide a desk and a chair. Let us know what you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village in a region called Alt Empordà, which is 20 minutes away from the sea, 20 minutes away from France and 1 hour away on the bullet train from Barcelona. It is a great region for sightseeing with very beautiful sights and cities around, such as Girona or Besalú. There is a bus in the village that takes you to the closest cities and to a train&bus station to go anywhere in the area.

    It is the first time for us to have volunteers at home, but we have both done homestay in different countries and we are eager to meet new people and widen our horizons.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 264981746872