We're looking for help in continuing to grow our co-living community and enrich our neighborhood in Michigan, USA


United States

Favourited 65 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 50 days

  • Description


    Hi my name's Meghan and I live and work in Detroit, MI, USA in a historic nearly 100 year old home. I'm originally from New York but have lived in New Jersey, Los Angeles, Spain, Seattle, Denver, and now Detroit!

    My partner and I love living with others and creating community. We are in the process of bringing to life some old homes, filling them will new friends, and revitalizing our historically underserved / developing neighborhood. Our little group of students, entrepreneurs, artists, recent grads, friends, loves hosting games nights, bonfires, and potlucks. We also love skill shares so if you have something you'd like to teach please let me know! Past skill shares include salsa lessons, kombucha brewing, and 3D printing.

    We're looking for help in continuing to grow our co-living community and enrich our neighborhood.

    We're looking for people who love living in community and creating something cool together. More important than any specific skill is the mindset of creation, collaboration and getting shit done.

    Reach out if you want to hear more and experience Detroit, a city rising from the ashes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️English language exchange (I also speak a decent amount of Spanish. If you know less, I'd be happy to teach. If you know more, I'd be happy to learn!)

    *️️Partner dancing- Matthew and I have taught many dance styles including salsa, bachata, west coast swing, and zouk. Let's dance!

    *️️Building / Rehab skills- I have learned SO MUCH about houses and how they're constructed since starting this project. I'd love to share my knowledge and I'm sure you'd pick some stuff up along the way.

    *️️Instant community is the coolest city ever. I might be biased but our friends and roommates are awesome and so is our city. We'll show you around and you'll fall in love with it too. Maybe you'll even decide to stay with us for a while!

  • Help


    Honestly, if you're excited and willing to help, we have something for you! Projects can cover a wide range of areas or be more focused if you have a specific skill you're bringing to the community. Here are some examples:

    Hours: About 20 hours / week with flexible timing

    Building / Maintenance- there's always a project to be done, whether it's painting stairs, building Ikea furniture, patching drywall etc. these old homes can always use some attention. My partner, Matthew, is very skilled / handy and can direct and teach a lot of these projects but we need more hands!

    Cleaning- help keep our spaces beautiful and clean.

    Gardening- we're in the process of buying some land for a garden but we also have backyards we would love to see overflowing with fruits, vegetables, herbs etc. Do you have a green thumb?

    Photography / Website / Social Media Management- If you're creative and have some experience with tech or social media, we'd love help documenting our projects and telling our story.

    Art- Every wall is a blank canvas and we'd love to paint some murals in our homes and our neighborhood. 3D / structural art could also be a possibility as well. Detroit is famous for it. Google African Bead Museum or Heidelberg Project for a glimpse.

    Admin / Research- desk or laptop work more your style? We can always use help with admin stuff, researching events and groups online, and more.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You'll get a bed in a private or shared bedroom depending on how many workawayers we get at any one time. You'll have access to all the house's common areas including the kitchen and places to store your things.

    We're about five miles from Midtown and 6 miles from Downtown and right on a bus route that takes you through both. We're happy to lend bicycles for you to explore the city as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our homes are smoke-free and drug-free homes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

Host ref number: 262718818254