Help needed in the peaceful countryside of Le Mas d'Azil, France

Country

France

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tif and Niko, around 30+ years old living in a peaceful place at Le Mas d'Azil with our baby girl.
    We are trying to build a great environment to grow our daughter and create the change we want in the world. That's why we are developing a "mini-farm" project respectful for the animals and environnement. We are experimenting with beekeeping, raising goats and chickens and vegetables gardening on a family scale.

    We have travelled through Europe, Asia and Australia for 2 years with an old 4WD. During our long journey we have done some workaway stays (poland, thailand, australia) and loved these experiences. We know how precious it is to discover a country from the inhabitant, we'll make sure to welcome you as best as we can and hope you'll enjoy your stay with us.

    More about us :
    Niko is a retired engineer and volunteer firefighter, always looking for new experiences, he loves thinking and working hours on stuff and stuff.
    Tif is a psychomotor therapist (working 3 days a week) and also a volunteer firefighter. She likes to work hard or create pretty things but she needs to take her time.
    We both are at home most of the time but as we are volunteer firefighters, one of us has to be prepared to leave anytime quickly. That doesn't prevent us from working in the garden or taking time to relax.
    We are open minded people, pretty simple and very adaptative. We are rather sporty (cycling, running, hiking, climbing) and we love outdoor activities that you'll be welcome to share with us if you want. We are always up for board or card games !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd be happy to share with you everything that makes our county so fantastic (cheeses, walks, markets, delights, sights) and our peaceful daily life.
    We can share everything we know about bees, goats, veggies and how to make an automatically managed garden (rainwater collection, autonomous henhouse).
    We can also show you the beehives and walk the goats together.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 2 different kind of profiles :

    - THE HARDWORKING KIND -
    We always have something to do outside : trim the hedges, take care of vegetable garden, mow the lawn, cut and collect branches, draw the ground, rake, clean animals houses, install and repair fences on a very steep ground ...
    It's mostly physical works but we are not looking for a Hulk, everyone can do it at their own pace.
    We could do most of the things on our own but it's more pleasant and dynamic to help with someone else. However, you are free to manage your schedule independently.

    - THE NANNY KIND -
    We need extra hands to take care of our daughter while we are both working in the garden. We could be more efficient and peaceful if someone else could stay with our baby.
    We are looking for someone trustworthy, kind and patiente who likes to spend time with children. Basically, you'll have to play, care, and sometimes take her for a walk.
    As she still a baby (1 year and half) is important for us to turn off screens when she's in the room and we'll ask you to let your smartphone aside while you're with her.

    For both profile we expect half day working, 5 days a week.
    About meals, we'll provide the lunch and let you manage the rest of your food.
    You are also free to collect fresh eggs in the garden anytime.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd like to learn spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We'll host you on our house's ground floor, which is for yourself only.
    There is :
    - bedroom with double bed and cupboard
    - kitchen with small fridge, gaz cooker, microwave and cooking tools + table and chairs
    - bathroom
    - small living room (with tv)
    All the house is no smocking area, we provide wifi internet (the connection can be slow sometimes).
    We simply expect that you respect the rules of living together (silence at night and during the baby's nap, keep the accommodation clean, do not overconsume water and electricity).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Le Mas d'Azil is a pretty town (10 minutes by bike), very touristic in summer. All along the year you can visit its famous natural cave and enjoy a local market every Wednesday morning.
    We live near a river (1 minute by bike) where you can swim or chill out ! There is also trails, pretty cities (Carla Bayle, St Lizier, Foix) and lakes (Mondely, Filheit, Carla) to explore around.
    Depending on the season you can collect apples in the orchard next door, visit an Angora goat farm or museums (Xploria, Affabuloscope museum), see artisan workshops (glass blower, potter...), go to the astronomical observatory or even bungee jump over the cave !
    We live in the countryside and even if a few buses run it is way more convenient to hitchhike (commonly practiced here). We can lend you a bike too !
    At Le Mas d'Azil there is a few small shops (pharmacy, groceries, bakery...) and we go once a week in a bigger town (Saint Girons or Foix 20 to 30 minutes by car), we can drive you there too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park a big vehicle in front of the house but not in the garden as the ground is too steep.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are OK with pets but make sure they are friendly with goats and hens. You also have to know our home is near a road without proper fence.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 262215753349