Help to build a house with natural materials near Huesca, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 213 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have some land located 8 km from Huesca. I bought it 10 years ago (Christian) with the idea of turning it into a place to experience permaculture and bioconstruction to achieve a self-sufficient life in harmony with nature.

    Before its acquisition it had an agricultural use and over time we have been building different spaces: A geodesic dome that is a greenhouse and part of a chicken coop, an adobe barbecue and an orchard. We also placed a mobil-home as a base camp and thus be immersed in the project. We are accompanied in this adventure by two cats, three sheep, some hens and bees.

    We are Christian (graduated in Forestry Technical Engineering and Forestry Engineering) and Bea (graduated in Technical Architecture and a Master of Bioconstruction). Currently we are building a house of 50 m2 of land (with the technique of cob), roof garden, dry toilet, green filter, and other techniques of bio-construction.

    ----

    Tenemos un terreno situado a 8 km de Huesca. Lo compré hace 11 años (Christian) con la idea de convertirlo en un sitio donde experimentar la permacultura y la bioconstrucción para conseguir una vida autosuficiente en armonía con la naturaleza.

    Antes de su adquisición tenía un uso agricola y con el tiempo hemos ido construyendo diferentes espacios: Un domo geodésico que es un invernadero y parte de un gallinero, una barbacoa de adobes y un huerto. También situamos una mobil-home a modo de campamento base y poder así estar inmersos en el proyecto. Nos acompañan en esta aventura dos gatos, algunas gallinas y abejas.

    Somos Christian (graduado en Ingeniería Técnica Forestal e Ingeniería de Montes) y Bea (graduada en Arquitectura Técnica y un Máster de Bioconstrucción). Actualmente estamos autoconstruyendo una casa de 50 m2 de tierra (con la técnica de cob), cubierta ajardinada, baño seco, filtro verde, y otras técnicas de bioconstrucción.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn the techniques of bioconstruction to self-build a house, enjoy in a quiet and peaceful place in connection with nature.
    We have bicycles for those who want to go for walks in the area, get closer to Huesca, etc. Taking advantage of the fact that Christian goes to Huesca some days of the week, the volunteers can go with him to visit the city or take some transportation to travel.

    -----

    Puedes aprender las técnicas de bioconstrucción para autoconstruir una casa, disfrutar en un lugar tranquilo y apacible en conexión con la naturaleza.
    Tenemos bicicletas para quienes quieran ir a dar paseos por la zona, acercarse a Huesca, etc. Aprovechando que Christian va a huesca algunos días de la semana los voluntarios pueden ir con él para visitar la ciudad o coger algun transporte para viajar.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help for the construction of the house, currently finishing details:
    - Sift / filter sand and clay to leave it ready for when it is needed for other tasks.
    - Construction of the floor putting the different layers (record, insulation, firm and tiles)
    - Revoke with mud of some interior walls and all the exterior, then, we will revoke with lime.
    - To finish the green roof: raise and put earth on the roof.
    - Build wooden staircase.
    - Go to cut canes to store them and in the future build partitions and the porch.

    In general I (Christian) will dedicate myself to finish the details and I will need help promptly (in moments it will be working together, but that will depend on the phase in which we find ourselves).
    Bea works and can hardly help us, except weekends or free time.

    Apart from the time of help, we will share the tasks of the house (of the common area), such as cooking, washing dishes and cleaning (we usually take turns or distribute tasks according to preference)

    ----

    Principalmente necesitamos ayuda para la construcción de la casa, actualmente detalles de acabado:
    - Tamizar / filtrar arena y arcilla para dejarla preparada para cuando se necesite en el resto de tareas.
    - Construcción del suelo poniendo las distintas capas (graba, aislamiento, firme y baldosas)
    - Revoco con barro de algunas paredes interiores y todo el exterior, seguidamente, revocaremos con cal.
    - Terminar el techo verde / techo vivo: subir y poner tierra sobre el techo.
    - Construir escalera de madera.
    - Ir a cortar cañas para almacenar y construir en un futuro tabiques y el porche.

    En general yo (Christian) me dedicaré a terminar los detalles y necesitaré puntualmente ayuda (en momentos será trabajar conjuntamente, pero eso dependerá de la fase en la que nos encontremos).
    Bea trabaja y dificilmente nos podrá echar una mano, excepto fines de semana o tiempos libres.

    A parte del tiempo de ayuda, compartiremos las tareas de la casa (de la zona común), como es cocinar, fregar y limpiar (solemos turnarnos o repartir las tareas según preferencia)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spaces:
    - A mobile home of 21 m2 where is the common area (bathroom and kitchen-dining room), with heating.
    - A module where we have two beds, one double and one single without heating, where there are sheets, blankets, sleeping bags and work clothes.

    ----

    Disponemos de dos espacios:
    - Una mobil-home de 21 m2 donde está la zona común (baño y cocina-comedor), que dispone de calefacción.
    - Un módulo donde tenemos dos camas, una doble y otra individual sin calefacción, donde hay sabanas, mantas, sacos de dormir y ropa de trabajo.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From here there are many possibilities, from seeing castles, cathedrals, natural spaces nearby, as well as the impressive Aragonese Pyrenees.

    ------

    Desde aquí hay muchísimas posibilidades, desde ver castillos, catedrales, espacios naturales cercanos, así como el impresionante pirineo aragonés.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ya casi casi está
Y un solapamiento de voluntarios extraordinario.... al barro!!!
Aquí en plena faena de barro con Marina y Carmen
En una de las escapadas para soportar el calor... Isaac e Izabela al salto de Bierge!
Here Pietro and Sveva make adobes, great Workers!













Host ref number: 261228914456