Come and help kids in a beautiful Mayan town! Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

Favourited 158 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a beautiful quiet town 30 minutes away from Antigua Guatemala. For 29 years we help our community and for 12 years we work with kids. It is a small family association. Every day we host around 30 kids, they come here to have extra classes after school, we teach them basic subjects, with help of volunteers also English, we organise events and shows to give them opportunity to develop imagination, social living, common sense, most important we focus to teach them how to be a good person, how to help others, take care of the planet. We also try to preserve our culture, we teach the kids Kaqchikel so the language is not forgotten, we teach them traditional dances. We also give the shows of our dances in Antigua. We are one big family!

    Somos una familia que vive en una ciudad hermosa y tranquila a 30 minutos de Antigua Guatemala. Durante 29 años hemos ayudado a nuestra comunidad y durante 12 años hemos trabajado con niños. Somos una pequeña asociación familiar. Todos los días recibimos alrededor de 30 niños, venimos a tomar clases de refuerzo después de la escuela, les enseñamos temas básicos, con la ayuda de voluntarios (también en inglés), organizamos eventos y espectáculos para darles la oportunidad de desarrollar su imaginación, La vida, el sentido común. Lo más importante para nosotros es tratar de enseñarles cómo ser una buena persona, cómo ayudar a los demás y cómo cuidar el planeta. También intentamos preservar nuestra cultura, enseñamos kaqchikel a los niños para que no se pierdan el idioma y también los bailes tradicionales. Damos espectáculos de nuestros bailes en Antigua. ¡Somos una gran familia!


    Abrir en Google Traductor
    Comentarios
    Resultados de la Web
    Traductor de Google

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The town is a Mayan town, we speak Kaqchickel. You can try to learn the language aslo learn more about Mayan culture. People in the town are very welcoming and friendly, they will be very happy to exchange the culture. This would be a great opportunity to practice your Spanish as the people around almost dont speak any English. You will get the chance to try our favourite traditional food as well as cook with us. We also drink lots of natural drinks which are not known in other countries. Volunteers love it.

    El pueblo es un pueblo maya, hablamos kaqchickel. Puedes intentar aprender el idioma y aprender más sobre la cultura maya. La gente en la ciudad es muy acogedora y amigable, estarán muy felices de intercambiar su cultura. Esta sería una gran oportunidad para practicar tu español, ya que las personas que te rodean casi no hablan inglés. También tendrá la oportunidad de probar nuestra comida tradicional favorita, así como de cocinar con nosotros. Solemos beber muchas bebidas naturales que no se conocen en otros países. Los voluntarios lo aman.

  • Help

    Help

    TEACHING

    The kids come to our house every day at 2pm until 4:30 from Monday to Friday so these days we need volunteers who can lead the classes. We have many new projects in mind, for example English programme or help with computer. If someone wants to commit to teach English we can in these hours do one hour only for teaching English. Apart from that we have one or two teachers here who always would appreciate any kind of help. Sometimes we organise events, for example Christmas shows or bonfires also on the weekends and evening, we invite all kids and also their parents. Any type of help is needed: prepare the food, prepare the games for kids and adults. If you have any other skills or knowledge it would be great if you want to share, kids will love it, maybe carpeting, gardening, painting, other language :)

    MAINTENANCE

    We want to organise little playground for kids or make a orchard with them, we have the space but not the seeds (
    If I could collaborate with this, we would be very grateful). Also we want to build another lever in our house,
    older and younger children are sharing a very small space . The work hours will depend on volunteers, you can help in whatever you want.

    WORKING WITH ADULTS

    We would like to help the community to develop their skills. If you can teach the ladies how to for example: knit, make jewellery, grow chickens, grow vegetables.

    Please feel free to contact as well :)



    ENSEÑANDO

    Los niños vienen a nuestra casa todos los días de 2:00 a 4:30 de lunes a viernes, por lo que en estos días necesitamos voluntarios que puedan ayudarnos a dirigir las clases. Tenemos muchos proyectos nuevos en mente, por ejemplo, programa de inglés o ayuda con la computadora. Si alguien quiere comprometerse a enseñar inglés, en estas horas podemos hacer una hora solamente para eso. Aparte de esto, tenemos uno o dos maestros aquí que siempre apreciarían cualquier tipo de ayuda. A veces organizamos eventos, por ejemplo, espectáculos de Navidad o hogueras, también los fines de semana, y por la noche, invitamos a todos los niños y también a sus padres. Se necesita cualquier tipo de ayuda: preparar la comida, preparar los juegos para niños y adultos. Si tiene alguna otra habilidad o conocimiento, sería genial si quiere compartir, a los niños les encantará, tal vez alfombrar, jardinería, pintar, otro idioma seria de gran ayuda.

    MANTENIMIENTO

    Queremos organizar un pequeño parque infantil para los niños o hacer un huerto con ellos, tenemos el espacio pero no las semillas (si pudiera colaborar con esto, le estaríamos muy agradecidos). También queremos construir otra habitación en nuestra casa, los niños mayores y pequeños están compartiendo un espacio muy pequeño. Las horas de trabajo dependerán de los voluntarios, puedes ayudar en lo que quieras.

    TRABAJANDO CON ADULTOS

    Nos gustaría ayudar a la comunidad a desarrollar sus habilidades. Si tienes alguna habilidad o conocimiento que quieras compartir, cómo por ejemplo: tejer, hacer joyas, cultivar pollos, cultivar verduras... siempre estamos dispuesto a ayudarte.

    No dude en contactarnos :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one room that is for volunteers, it has one double bed (perfect for couples) and one single bed. Additionally we have one double room that can also be for volunteers. The accommodation is in our house with our lovely family, we will be very happy to host new people. The food is not included but sometimes we can cook together. There are also few places to eat in San Andres.
    We do not have wifi but you can get a local sim card with LTE internet. It is very cheap.


    Tenemos una habitación para voluntarios, tiene una cama doble (perfecta para parejas) y una cama individual. Adicionalmente contamos con una habitación doble que también puede ser para voluntarios. El alojamiento está en nuestra casa con nuestra encantadora familia, estaremos encantados de recibir nuevas personas. La comida no está incluida pero a veces podemos cocinar juntos. También hay algunos lugares para comer en San Andrés.
    No tenemos wifi, pero puede obtener una tarjeta SIM local con Internet LTE. Es muy barato.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To get here you can take a direct chicken bus from Antigua, it is 5 quetzales. We will obviously guide you how to get the bus.
    Our town is small but it is surrounded by green hills. There are lots of small Mayan villages to visit as well as park where are sources of water and the blue clear river.
    If you wish we can also organise a trip to Huehuatenango, where are family lives. It is a beautiful untouched part of Guatemala, there are no tourists, people speak their own languages. Definitely will be a great experience if you want to get to know Guatemala closer.



    Para llegar aquí puedes tomar un chicken bus desde Antigua, son 5 quetzales. Obviamente, le guiaremos en cómo tomar el autobús.
    Nuestro pueblo es pequeño pero está rodeado de verdes colinas. Hay un montón de pequeños pueblos mayas para visitar, así como un parque donde hay fuentes de agua y el río azul claro.
    Si lo desea también podemos organizar un viaje a Huehuatenango, donde se encuentran la vida familiar. Es una parte hermosa e intacta de Guatemala, no hay turistas, la gente habla sus propios idiomas. Definitivamente será una gran experiencia si quieres conocer Guatemala más de cerca.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours a week - no food and loading provide




Host ref number: 258326373647