Join our family for adventures and help on the farm and with our kids in San Vito, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • Favourited 72 times
  • Last activity: 07/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Pura Vida! We are a family from the United States living near San Vito, Costa Rica. Me-Alex, my spouse-El, and our 3 kids Amina (11), North (7), and Ani (6), living on almost 4 acres full of different kinds of fruit trees. It was wild and overgrown and we have spent the last year clearing out the overgrowth, freeing up the trees, and are working to create a sustainable homestead and retreat center. We have developed a road to a newly constructed house, built a chicken coop, and are ready to develop the gardens and greenhouse and so much more.
    The long term goal is to build some cabins, a "temple", deck, community kitchen, etc. I mostly work on the property ("la finca"), my spouse El works remotely as an RN, and the kids attend the local school half-days. We have 2 dogs, a cat, a bunny, and a growing flock of chickens, and hope to add some goats, a pig, and peacocks over time.
    Our kids are independent, bold, charismatic, and unique. The eldest is social and loves to talk, sing, create art, and generally loves to capture anyone's attention. The middle is smart and slightly reserved, he can be sensitive and particular, and sometimes challenging. The youngest is bold and headstrong, sweet and spicy. *It would be ideal (but not compulsory) that anyone choosing to workaway with us has experience with small children, particularly children on the autism spectrum*
    Our family likes to adventure: going for hikes, exploring waterfalls, finding swimming holes, heading to the beach, meeting new people and learning new cultural lessons, sharing food and swapping plants, discovering flowers and bugs and wildlife. We are simple people who appreciate co-living in balance with nature. Our mission is to steward the Earth, our finca, and the children for a future that is healthy, whole, and loving.

    *Our farm is open and welcoming to BIPOC & LGBTQ+ people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Costa Rica is rich with cultural experiences and friendly, welcoming people. Our finca is located in a rural region with the most beautiful mountain views. There is minimal tourism in our area and an abundance of deeply rooted Costa Rican culture. San Vito is known for it's coffee farms and early Italian settlement. Located in the south central region it is only a 35 minute drive to the Panama border and 2 1/2 hours from the Pacific beaches. The bus station is only 10 minutes from our property and can easily take you across the country, to the Caribbean coast, or even Nicaragua or Guatemala.
    Local dining is affordable and San Vito has many different and delicious restaurants. "La Feria" The Farmer's Market is held every Saturday with fresh local produce. Many opportunities for Spanish language enrichment and exchange. Local celebrations, festivals, and holidays.

    We hope to exchange knowledge and experience, learning from others, and teaching each other.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Some areas we are seeking help:

    -Finca/Farmstay help: building structures (water collection, cabins, "temple", deck, community kitchen, greenhouse, solar/wind power set-up), clearing and maintaining grasses, tree trimming, digging, Fruit harvesting.

    -Gardening: digging, building, planting, weeding, harvesting, processing, cooking (needing help from start to finish).

    -Animal Care: feeding, watering, moving, maintaining health, cleaning (i.e. chicken coop, bunny cage, etc).

    -Help around the House: tasks including sweeping, mopping, dusting, dishes, cleaning bathrooms.

    -Childcare: outings with the kids, support with learning/homework, art projects, teaching.

    *Seeking an artist to help co-create a large mural design and paint.

    Requesting at least 25 hours per week depending on skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At this time, we have 1 room available in our 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house. It is furnished with a double bed and linens, the bathroom is shared. We would welcome a couple but would request each individual offer at least 25 hours per week.

    Tent/Hammock space available.

    Also included: access to the house's kitchen, bathroom (hot water), outdoor shower, large patio space, laundry machine, fiberoptic Wi-Fi, family meals.

    Helpers would be welcome to eat any foods harvested from the property.

    We also invite Helpers to join our family on adventures and trips.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be expected that Helpers will help at least 25 hours per week (between 5:00am and 7:00pm) in the area of their skill, maintain a clean environment within their personal space as well as the shared/communal space, be respectful of the family flow/dynamic, and communicate clearly and directly when concerns/needs arise.

    Bus pickup is available near our property and will take you into San Vito. The bus station there can transport anywhere in the country. Helpers would be welcome to join us on our errand runs to town. It is also possible to hire a taxi.
    There is a hotel with swimming pool within 2 kilometers.
    Natural hot springs an hour away. Waterfalls within 20 minutes. Skate park in the neighboring town, 30 minutes away. Duty-free (tax-free) shopping is available at the Panama borders (35-90minutes away).
    The major airport is in San Jose, 7 hours away, where you can find shopping, dining, clubs, and more.
    Beautiful Pacific beaches are only 2 1/2 hours away, including the renowned "Whale Tale" beach at Playa Ballena, Uvita.

    **We respectfully request all Helpers keep any alcohol consumption to a minimal level within the house and on the property. Cigarette smoking is not allowed near or in the house and must be disposed of properly.**

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space available to park. 4x4 ideal.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 257942858281

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Help at a sustainable permaculture project in the mountains of Turrialba, Costa Rica
Cultural exchange in Playa Dominical, Costa Rica