Help out on our smallholding at the edge of the village of Vale De Prazeres, Portugal



Favourited 77 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are a Portuguese/Irish couple who love nature and wildlife. We live on the farm but in a separate house which gives you plenty of privacy yet we are easily accessible if required. This is an opportunity to share some new skills and spend time with good company.
    It is a 3 hectare "Quinta" (smallholding) at the edge of the village of Vale De Prazeres, on an elevated site with stunning views. Our hope is to create a peaceful and sustainable environment that can be used and enjoyed by ourselves and others whilst respecting the nature around us and being as organic as possible. We speak fluently in Portuguese, English and French and some basic Spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an opportunity to learn about farmland and woodland management, to learn about self sufficiency and organic farming. And also to learn some building work. It is also a chance to learn cultural traditions and languages.

  • Help


    Looking for short and medium term people who would like to stay and work on our property.
    We would want people who are willing to work 5 days a week for at max 5 hours a day. We are very flexible about working hours and tasks. We are looking for people to help mainly with reclaiming the land and forests, although there is also need for some minor building work. Some of the tasks include clearing of terraces, woodlands and paths and around the houses. Restoring paths, stone walls and cultivating terraces and a water mine. Build sheds for animals and storage, work on insulation for houses. It will be mostly physical work so you must have a reasonable level of fitness. If you come by train or bus, we can collect you from Vale de Prazeres or Fundao stations.
    You MUST have your own travel insurance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation provided is a comfortable self catering house. It has a fully fitted kitchen, basic food is provided, electricity, hot running water. There’s a fully equipped living room. All bedrooms have beds with linen provided and have en suite bathrooms. Heating in the winter months is from a wood burning stove and wood is available. Wi-Fi is also available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Set in woodland, surrounded by nature where you can enjoy the varied landscape, flora and fauna. Olive groves, pine forest, cork oaks, mimosa and an amazing range of wildlife, especially birdlife: eagles, buzzards, woodpeckers, hoopoes and golden orioles to name just a few. Only 5 minutes walk to the beautiful village of Vale De Prazeres with all amenities: bars, cafes, groceries, pharmacy, atm, train station, etc.
    The large town of Fundao is a 15 minute drive away, city of Castelo Branco is a 35 minute drive, and Portugal’s highest mountain 'Serra da Estrela' is also 35 mins drive with skiing in winter. A23 motorway is a 10 minute drive from here. Many historic sites are nearby: Monsanto, Castelo Novo, Sabugal and many more. Lakes and rivers with river beaches close-by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 257455597236