English language exchange, interact with locals and participate in community activities, Izu Peninsula, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 465 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    THE PROJECT - SEASON 2 (by the beach side!)

    I'm in midst of arranging the project so details are subject to change..

    Hi, my name is Rob. After a 10 year corporate experience in Tokyo, I decided to make a change and immerse myself in rural Japan. I currently live in the beautiful peninsula know as Izu Peninsula, surrounded by mountains and beaches.

    This year, we'll be doing a 2 month setup at a guesthouse just 2-3min walk from the beach. It's a 3-4 hour train ride from Tokyo, but the beaches are as beautiful as the southern island resorts like Hawaii or the Caribbeans. This is a jump from Izu-Okawa, a more mountainous region to Izu-Shimoda surrounded one of the most beatiful beaches in the country.

    Usual WORKAWAY activities may include the following.

    PAID WORK
    a) Daily choirs around the guesthouse (setting up sheets) , and possible gardening. This part should be paid.

    UNPAID WORK
    b) English Conversation practice activities (elders, kids, adults. audiences of all ages)
    c) Possibly Joining activities like farming, festivals, and sharing the experience through social media.

    # Daily activities of paid work should last for 3-4 hours (i.e. cleaning)
    # Daily start at 8AM or 10AM, lights out 10PM, curfew 11PM
    # To comply with local administration, must hold valid Visa status in Japan (i.e. Working holiday visa or student visa, etc. )
    # Specific details of the content of the work may change. In case of change participants shall be noticed.

    For PARICIPANTS, please contact me with the following. (This is extra information to get to know each other better.)
    1) Your interest and motivation to coming to Japan (you don't need be afraid to say ANIME, as one of your likings)
    2) Teaching or social work experience (if any)
    3) If anyone is good with web development please let me know.
    4) Anything else we should know about.

    Hope to hear from you guys soon.

    Thanks!
    Rob

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As this is a workaway project in a start-up phase, you'd have the chance to contribute to the initial phase of the project.
    If you'd like to do things from scratch, be part of the beginning phase of a project, this is your chance!

    - let's do things"undiscovered" "outside of the box" ( so you can brag to your friend : )
    - Enjoy the "old school Japanese rural life"
    - Learn some Japanese mannerism (great to know when if you're traveling across the country)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Usual WORKAWAY activities may include the following.
    a) Daily choirs around the house, and possible gardening
    b) English teaching activities (elders, kids, adults. audiences of all ages)
    c) Joining activities like farming, festivals, and shari the experience through social to future travelers around the globe.

    We run on the concept of "voluntary work", meaning ideally, NO OBLIGATION as much as possible. If you strongly feel certain activities do not fit your character, values or personal motivation please tell me on the spot. Great work comes from a strong sense of natural voluntary spirit, meaning pure interest.

    Also I'd like to ask you ideas on any kind of additional creative/innovative contributions you can make. Basically we live to together to greet other guests (my friends) who will also work on this project together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Extra rooms in my house (you will share with other staffs/guests)
    Futons, bed sheets are provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    3min walk from train station, 1min from post office. 6min walk to Convenience stores. Super markets are in next station. 6 min walk to ocean side onsen. Vegetable stands & fresh egg vending machines.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4hours a day, 5 days a week

Your host "Rob"
the "real" master of the house, goofing around






















Host ref number: 252864378129