Join a family with chickens, cats and a dog in North West London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 158 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in North West London close to Golders Green which is 20 minutes away from central London by tube train and also easily accessible by bus. Travel to all the London airports is straightforward and also it’s very quick to the Eurostar train terminal. While we are very close to the hustle and bustle of the West End and City of London with all its shopping, entertainment, and cultural attractions, our garden opens on to the large and lovely Hampstead Heath park. Our daughters are 18 and 14 and we also share our house with a German Shepherd Dog, a Cat and a Kitten while we have 5 chickens (very good egg layers) in the garden.

    Our family life involves lots of outdoor as well as indoor activities (which is just as well given the unpredictable English weather) and we entertain visitors frequently. Our house is a large and detached one with a big garden including a tennis court. The main part of the house is on 3 floors while we have an interconnected side wing with 2 bedrooms, a small kitchen and lounge with TV. Our main kitchen is the real family hub and generates lots of home prepared healthy food from scratch ranging from sourdough baked bread, through Mediterranean cuisine, traditional English dishes, vegetarian delicacies all the way to raw food products using techniques including soaking and dehydrating. We also love to hear our kitchen and other family rooms filled with music, laughter and other evidence of fun being had!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from our location and familiarity with life in London and the UK in general but also our significant experience of travel around Europe and the rest of the globe. They will also gain exposure to many types of cuisine, cultural and sporting events and venues

  • Help

    Help

     We are looking for an animal-loving, outgoing young person with good energy and initiative who can help us with the security of our home and help look after our animals while being keen to learn and try new things joining in with our (hectic) family life. Pet care would include taking our dog for a walk on Hampstead Heath, feeding and grooming him and the cat and kitten and also some daily care of the chickens and egg collection. We travel away fairly frequently when we need someone at the house full time to look after both the animals and the property but when we are at home there would be ample opportunity to experience everything that our London location has to offer and to accommodate travel opportunities for you around Europe or the UK. Regarding time frame we are initially looking for help over the summer period from mid-June until mid September but as our needs are ongoing we can consider longer assignments too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a spacious ensuite bedroom in our side wing and have use of the small kitchen and TV lounge in this part of the house when you wanted time to yourself away from the rest of the family or wanted to eat your own meals. As well as all the Sky TV entertainment, movie and sport channels there is access to Netflix, Amazon Prime and Spotify for music while throughout the whole house you would have access to unlimited wifi. The side wing also has its own entry door so you would be able to come and go independently.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers would have everything London has to offer within easy access via tube or bus as well as the excellent national and international travel airports and stations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The protector
The real owners of our home
Our garden and the Heath Extension
Host ref number: 251559322443