Come and help around a small homestead on rural acreage in Beaver Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young professional couple who moved away from an urban lifestyle to raise our three boys closer to the land and the family ranch. We live on Beaver Lake in Beaver Valley, British Columbia on 9 acres. We have 700 ft of lakefront right outside our front door.

    Our family values are eating homegrown organic healthy food, living symbiotically with nature, raising kids in a free range environment and providing opportunities for them to participate in food production as well as develop skills by helping in our homestead development. We moved closer to the family ranch to build relationships and have knowledge passed on to the next generation.

    We also value the benefit of raising our kids in the natural world. We spend most of our time outdoors with them playing, working, recreating and just being.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place offers a quintessential Canadian experience- outdoor activities, enjoying nature's beauty, and participating in rural community events. We are a very active family and are always adventuring with our children into the great outdoors. We are happy to include our travelers when possible.

    Travelers have the opportunity to learn many aspects of early stage homestead development such as garden development, landscaping, fencing, small animal housing and care, building projects, irrigation systems, etc

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking will for help on all aspects of early stage homestead development. Depending on the travellers skill set and interests, we have the following needs:
    Fencing, brush clearing, small animal housing and care, irrigation systems, garden building and development, landscaping, small building construction, outdoor earthen wood fired oven, child care, general maintenance, house cleaning and cooking assistance.

    In the winter, we have firewood, laying hen care, shop building construction, help on grandparent cattle ranch down the road ( includes horses), some childcare ( max 10 hrs per week) and house stuff, etc.

    Travellers must like children as we have 3 charismatic little boys that are keen to meet new people and become fast friends.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travellers will be offered the RV or tent space. They can use the showers and bathrooms indoors. Bedding will be provided.

    Wholesome homegrown and cooked food will be provided and eaten with the family. Breakfast will be provided to be eaten on their own. We are very open-minded with food requests, however, we live an hour from the grocery store. Therefore, please identify any food constraints in advance such that we can determine whether we can accommodate them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our family spends most of their free time outside recreating. Recreational opportunities include:
    Canoeing, fishing, swimming, hiking, biking, exploring , horse back riding, skiing, skating, sledding, ice fishing.

    We live 1 hour from town and usually go 1 per week for groceries, etc. Free time is usually spent enjoying the outdoors and the quiet of rural life. Our family also loves music and play a variety of instruments and often host house concerts starring local musicians.

    There is a vehicle available for occasional use to visit local attractions or town visits ( driver license permitting).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 251237875824