Come join us and share your life experiences and interests with our family in Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/08/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Fernley and John a couple, though not married, of guys in their 60's. We have recently moved into a new home and would love some help carrying out the alterations we would like to make. The house is in a quiet rural community in south-west France, in the department of the Dordogne, near the river Dronne. We have to travel to socialise and would be happy to take you with us. We speak English and French and Fernley has a smattering of other European languages.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting new people learning from their life experience and sharing our interest in the world.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for all types of general DIY skills and gardening. If you are a builder/roofer/painter and decorator you would be most welcome as these are all things on our list of jobs 'to do'. We would be happy to pass on our DIY skills if you have no experience but are willing to learn. It's a great help if you are a self-starter and can use your initiative when completing a task. We are not really early starters but can be flexible to a certain extent!!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we are offering accommodation in our camper van parked just across from the house, you will have your own space with a toilet, a cooker, electricity and wi-fi. There is a shower in the van but probably easier to shower in the house. We envisage you organising your own breakfast but eating lunch and dinner with us, we are omnivores but don't eat a great deal of meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we mentioned this is a quiet rural community. A short bike ride away (bike(s) can be provided) there is a river beach with bar and pizzeria (seasonal - June to September). We are often on the road and enjoy showing people the local towns and visiting the Monday and Friday markets in our area. There is no public transport in the immediate vicinity but we are prepared to travel to the local train stations to pick you up, if necessary.
    This is definitely not a location for those looking for a busy social scene, we enjoy an apero before dinner and maybe a glass of wine but you have to make your own entertainment most of the time. We love a discussion over dinner, but probably Brexit best avoided, and enjoy our space and we respect yours.
    We have enjoyed the company of Workawayers in our previous property and gained a lot from their efforts, their knowledge and their life experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 249875434771