We are restoring our 200 year old house in the village and need extra hands since there is so much to do in Roussillon, France

Country

France

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're are a family of three : Jeanne, Ulysse (7) and Mathieu. We live in Roussillon, a beautiful village in the Luberon, Vaucluse known for it's red and orange cliffs. The view is unforgettable and there are many places to visit around by walk, bicycle or car. We are restoring a 200 year old house in the village and need help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're a family from various origins. I, Mathieu, am Canadian, Jeanne is French, granny is Indonesian and our son is a mix of all those. We traveled a lot and have some experience as workawayers. Over the course of this project, I learned a lot about masonry, carpentry, roofing, window glazing, welding as well as plumbing. I'm not a professional and I'm still learning but can share a lot of information and techniques. My wife is very knowledgeable about the region and the little secret places to visit. We will try our best to make you love our region.

  • Help

    Help

    We are restoring our 200 year old house in the village and need extra hands since there is so much to do. We mostly need to remove old mortar around rocks and repoint or even rebuild parts of the walls. There is some demolition and cleaning to do. If you have experience in masonry work, it is a real bonus but there is a lot to do that doesn't require experience. It's hard work but we try to make it as enjoyable as possible. My aging mother in law also need some help in the garden so we might ask here and there to spend some time at her place. We try to start working early in the morning to give you time to visit in the afternoon.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English and some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small room that is half finished at the top floor. There is a little terrace and the view is incredible. Think of it as deluxe camping with one of the nicest view around! If this is not possible, we can host you at granny's which has one or two rooms and even a spot for laying a tent (there is a 3 places tent available as well).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses from Cavaillon and Avignon that will drop you either in the village or close by. We can arrange a pickup easily. The village has a lot to offer by feet. When possible, we have a bicycle or two. If you come by car, then you will have many places to go including rivers, mountains and such.

    Ligne 15 (Avignon - Cavaillon - Apt)
    Get out at "Pont-Julien" or "Le Chêne" (we can pick you there)


    Ligne 17 (Cavaillon - Roussillon)
    Get out at "Roussillon - Aire de Retournement Bus" (the house is on the other side of the road)


    Please verify the validity dates of those timetables as they are different in the winter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dasha (Czechia) on her first try with the jackhammer!
Jiri (Czechia) long time war with the wall.


Host ref number: 244317927994