Help us build cottages and be exposed to a real South African way of life in a beautiful, peaceful environment in Sedgefield, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    87

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a Guest Farm in a stunning part of South Africa called the Garden Route. We have just started permaculture project and we are building more guest units and establishing the farm further. We are a married couple in our 50's English speaking and I (Diane) am of British origin. We have both recently given up on corporate life and settled in this beautiful place. My husband Antony, 'Ant' is an off-road motorbike fiend and runs a business with off-road bike tours and equipment sales. We have 3 children in their 20's, a son in Miami, a daughter in Australia and another son studying in Joburg, who you would probably meet as he & his girlfriend spend a lot of time with us.

    We have 2 live-in managers, a lovely couple in their 20's, who work on all aspects of the farm and some of our other businesses. We also have more live-in staff, a young couple from Malawi, who manage the cleaning, gardening and general maintenance at the farm. We have dogs, cats and chickens and there are wild pigs, tortoises and a variety of buck (deer) that roam the farm.
    The farm is 2kms from a main highway and 6kms from a beautiful beach. We are 7kms from the main village and 25 minutes either way to large towns and the airport. We are about 4 hours from Cape Town. People come to this part of South Africa for the incredible beaches, water-falls, forests, hikes, canoeing, paragliding, surfing, parasailing, mountain-biking and off-road routes. As well as to see the incredible bird-life and greenery the area has to offer.
    The farm is peaceful but always buzzing with activity and close enough to bars & restaurants as to not be boring.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be exposed to a real South African way of life in a beautiful, peaceful environment. There are also many farms and charity organisations in the area that would love any help you could offer should you chose.
    The area has a mix of young people interested in a simple lifestyle, local and international holiday-makers and retired people. The main language spoken is English, so a good grasp of the english language is important. However many of the locals speak Afrikaans which is very close to Dutch and other than African languages, German is quite widely spoken in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who have had experience building brick and/or wooden structures. We are looking to build a wooden guest house and a swimming pool.
    We are looking for people in July August 2018. Please do not contact us for other dates, or if you have no building experience, or cannot commit to less than 1 month. For now we just have this one project.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 shared spaces each with 2 single beds. There is a shared bathroom for each room.
    The first space is the main farm-house and the second is called the 'garden cottage' which is next to the farm-house. The owners stay in the guest-house during your stay.
    There is a main 'meeting space' with a kitchen, lounge/dining area as well as an outside seating and eating space. there is uncapped free Wifi with Apple TV & Netflix.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have a car available to you to share in your time off (at the owners discretion and should you have an international licence). You would work from 8am to 1pm daily and the afternoons and weekends are yours to sight-see. We will provide food and although there may be some shared meals, we would encourage you to prepare your own meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Guest cottage
Morning view on the farm
Host ref number: 242727766275