Come enjoy a peaceful house in a peaceful area - Rawdon, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1447

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    En résidence privée dans la belle région de Lanaudière (Québec, Canada) Dear workawayers, I need a guardian for my house, area of Lanaudiere (75 km from Montreal), surrounded by forest. You will be alone in the house, you main task is to do general cleaning (when needed) and remove the snow regularly on the terrace, the alley, and in the stairs in front of the house. As you will be alone there. you will have to be independant if you need to go to the village for some shopping (8km) and provide your own food. No internet in the site.
    WINTER SEASON: There is a small ski station nearby (5 km), and you can do snowshoe around the house or in forest nearby, walk in nature and you can do outside ice skating. Thanks!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being at my house will offer you to:
    *️️️️ Learn and practice more french, if you wish to;
    *️️️️ Learn more about Quebec's culture and history;

  • Help

    Help

    Dear workawayers,

    I live in a peaceful house, in a touristic area of Lanaudiere (75 km from Montreal), surrounded by forest, birds, while the house is also on a principal road, nearby the village. WINTER SEASON: There is a small ski station nearby (5 km), and you can do snowshoe around the house or in forest nearby, walk in nature and you can do outside ice skating. ///I have hens for eggs and like to cuddle them (this winter, I don't have them) ;) (I’m mostly vegetarian). I also have 2 fantastic and lovely cats. The terrace and the pool are here to relax on hot summer days, I have also access to a nice lake and small beach about 1km from here. Finally, I also have a horse, a real passion for me, that lives in a good ranch close from here. I do horse riding in winter also!


    I have several small jobs to do here outside and inside like:

    INSIDE - (March- April-May 2018):
    *️️️️ Preparation of the walls and painting of 1 room and 1 bathroom
    *️️️️ Installation of an inside door, installation some wood moldings;
    *️️️️ Staining of 2 wooden doors;
    *️️️️ Painting of a kitchen table and chairs, new fabric to fix on the cussions of the chairs;
    *️️️️ Curtains to install
    *️️️️ Some cleaning of the basement (with me, things in boxes, giving things, some for garbage etc.
    *️️️️ Other small things to fix or install in the house, a person with carpenter skills.

    LATE SPRING (May-June 2018)

    *️️️️Garden house: roof and painting outside;
    *️️️️Parking: a week-end with friends to put new rocks, cleaning the plants etc.
    *️️️️Gardening around the trees, trimming a space of grass around it, fences.
    *️️️️Cutting the top of a thuya fence (with a special chainsaw)
    *️️️️ AND SOME OTHER PROJECTS :)

    *️️️️ It’ helpful to know that here in Quebec during WINTER: It can we really cold sometime we have -20... and it can also rain)... So you need a good winter coat and snow boots, very warm clothes. I can bring you to a sharing store nearby where you can find very low cost clothes or regular stores, if you need something, and I also have some things here. I have 2 pairs of snowshoes that you can use.

    AND during SUMMER: we have mosquitoes (most in the morning and evening) and small bitting flies, so we are using lavender-rosemary-camphora based sprays to avoid them.

    With this exchange (3 meals and lodging in your own bedroom, and all the peace you can find here on the property --I offer healing and sound healing sessions from time to time, so the place reflect this state of mind), I also offer you to explore the WORLD OF HORSES: learn their language, why they behave in a certain way, and I propose you to start to interact with my horse, she's very gentle, a calm appaloosa. We'll see if it is a winning team, and if we can go further. I also offer you to go on touristic points around here. *️️️️There is also a bus service in the village that can bring you back and forth from Montreal 2-3 times a day.

    I've travel a lot and I love to hear about traveling stories, cultural exchanges, etc. We can share also about permaculture, natural health, vegetarian cooking, nature, traveling, photography, volunteering, music, etc. I've been involved as a volunteer and board member for more than 10 years, if you want to share about this. I don't watch/read the news since 2012, I choose to don't have regular tv service, but I watch movies from time to time. Internet wifi here is available.

    The experience here is for volunteers that are:

    *️️️️able to do light to medium effort of work (approx..5 hours a day, including house cleaning and keeping)
    *️️️️able to eat vegetarian food;
    *️️️️have a good sense of humour;
    *️️️️are respectful for others' values, honests and uprights
    *️️️️can live here - and out of here during the stay - free of drugs and maybe a moderate and occasional alcohol consumption-or none. Able to have a peaceful life (sometimes silence, sometimes some relaxing music, some talks);
    *️️️️understand the idea of exchange and volunteering;
    *️️️️feel at home in a lot of places on this beautiful planet;
    *️️️️wish to talk and practice english and/or french, while understanding well one of them. I’m also understanding/talking a little Spanish.

    Hope you will join me for a couple days or weeks and do this beautiful exchange! Thanks! Isabelle

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English (and a bit Spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House (for workawayers: 1 room for 1 person)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service in the village that can bring you back and forth to Montreal 2-3 times a day.

    Life at my house is:
    *️️️️Calm and relax (non judgemental);
    *️️️️No alcohol, no drugs, no cigarette;

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Host ref number: 241989232479