We'd love to have you come and help out at our beautiful rural property in Southern Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/05/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We'd love to have you come and help out at our beautiful rural property in Southern Spain. My wife Ana and I left London in 2012 to start a new life in Andalucia, where we found a 200yr old farmhouse and instantly fell in love with the view! The property sits on 55 acres of hillside with rolling hills all the way to the Mediterranean, and the Sierra de Maria mountain national park behind. If you're looking for peace & quiet, this is the place, as our nearest neighbours are a few km away in the village. This is quite a remote location, and we need to drive to get to the local towns, which are around 20mins away, but of course, this is also one of the main attractions to the property - everyone who comes here just loves the peacefulness and tranquillity. It's a very special spot.

    We're in our early 40s, outgoing and friendly. We love the outdoors, enjoy good food, the occasional glass of wine and a good conversation. We have one dog - a beautiful, friendly and energetic Iberian hound named 'Chips', and two cats, Pepper & Leo, who are the stars of the show!

    The property itself consists of a large two-story house, and a separate guest house which is part of our rural tourism business. As well as the outbuildings, we have a large outdoor pool, and a polytunnel for organic fruit & vegetables. We're both into strength & conditioning, and have an outdoor training gym with lots of kit, so if that's something that you enjoy, then you're welcome to join in!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots of ongoing projects on the property and would like someone who is willing to pitch in with whatever. If you have any experience in general building work, carpentry or gardening, that would be particularly useful. A willingness to work and just 'get stuck in', is most important though.

    The main areas of improvement are around the outdoor areas and that might involve painting, building walls, landscaping the garden, general maintenance, planting flowers or vegetable gardening. Its a beautiful location in sunny Spain, so working outdoors is almost never a chore and a cold beer at the end of the day makes it worth all the effort!

    We have a lot going on from day to day and as long as you're willing to help out around the house, keeping the place tidy and cooking a meal here and there, we'll get along just fine.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room, and the potential for your own bathroom as well. We'd like you to make yourself completely at home and will have full use of the kitchen, living areas, pool and outdoor space - the only exception would be when we had paying guests to stay, where we normally like to keep a few of the outside areas for their use only. It would be great if you can help out during those times too, maybe with preparing food or shopping.

    This is a family home and we all share the same space. There are pets around and so you need to be comfortable with dogs & cats- we prefer someone who is an animal lover and used to caring for pets themselves.

    We have a telephone and a decent Internet connection so you can be online, stay in touch with family & friends, watch films and keep up to date with the world (if you want to!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are in a rural location and it's often very quiet, this may be best suited to a couple who will be company for each other. We'd prefer non Smokers. We have a car and you're welcome to borrow it if you want to, whether for shopping or occasional trips to the beach (40mins away), or the hills (walking, climbing etc. nearby). We also have a couple of bikes you can use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day - some days less, some more.

Host ref number: 241164637155