Live in an intentional community with a big dream and many projects in Odemira, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Olá!
    We are Antonia, Joey, Felix, Andreas, Jeremy and Cosima and (animal) friends.

    For now only have space Sept 26- mid Noevmebr, for a minimum of 2 weeks. And then again from March onwards :)

    Since summer 2021 we have been living here on the land and we want to transform it into a place of regeneration and healing for nature, people and animals.
    In 2020 at a Dragon Dreaming we discovered our common dream:
    building a Healing Biotope to live and work and create. Bridging into a regenerative culture by balancing self-realization and service to all to unfold everyone's fullest potential.

    We are an international group from 34 to 58 years of age with four cats, two dogs, two horses and three sheep .

    We still live very simply, but are surrounded by a beautiful land whose beauty we enjoy every day - and every night. In 2021 we founded a multisectoral cooperative so we can offer our work and realize the dream. It will allow for us to sell our produce and products, build up a team of different bodywork, breathwork and other practitioners and offer treatments and courses, build, teach,... do all the colorful and wonderful things we dream to happen here one day. At the moment we are very much in the pioneering phase and setting up the first basic infrastructures, so we don't sell anything yet. But we are registered as a non for profit business and aim to provide our diverse services some day.

    We are about 7km from the district capital Odemira, a small charming town by the Mira river. The sea is about half an hour drive away. If you want to jump into a closer water, you can walk or take a bike to the beautiful Pego das Pias lagoon (ca 40 min walk).

    At the moment collectively we can speak English, Portuguese, Hindi, French, Spanish, German and Hebrew.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to live in an intentional community with a big dream and many projects. You can learn about co-creating, living together, holistic and regenerative practices in the garden, building and every day life tasks. Apart from the beautiful Alentejo culture, with us you will meet people from all over, eat foods from different countries, dance and sing with us and much more. Every person here has something else to share - some about photography, others Thai Massage... there is much to explore :)

  • Help

    Help

    For the time in autumn we have the following projects:

    - Moving the paddock for the horses and sheep (week of Sept 26)
    - Making a new garden where the horses and sheep used to live (Sept 28 - mid November)
    - Building a bath house, using natural materials (wood, canas, clay & upcycling glass bottles) (Sept 26 -Oct 14, some previous experience needed)
    - Making ditches and swales to prevent the run-off of water on the tracks and hills (Oct 17- mid November)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Thai: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a caravan or tent in the volunteer village. There is an outdoor shower, a dry toilet, an outdoor kitchen with a sitting area, a veggie garden (not active atm), a huge beautiful forest with many valleys and hills and a fresh water source. There is electricity at the outdoor kitchen!
    We will provide you with bedding and the tents (but please bring a towel :)). Usually we have lunch together (which is cooked by 1 or 2 of us) and breakfast and dinner are free flow. We provide you the foods to make them, of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Monday to Friday we will meet for our morning check-in with the whole community at the centre of the land. This is a 15 minute walk from where you sleep - the land spreads of 88 ha :) You can also come earlier and move with us (like yoga, stretching, lifting weights or chi gong).
    After the check-in we get onto doing our projects. Often this is in groups, sometimes we do task by ourselves. We take turns making lunch, which is always plant-based and with regional ingredients as much as possible. Some food also comes from our own garden ;)After lunch we sit together for a bit before you take a picturesque walk to the wwoof village, or go to Pego :) . Afternoons are open to do what you like, like going to Pego Das Pias (they call it Paradise Place!), exploring the land, going to the beach, meditateing, sing songs or whatever you feel like.
    Sometimes we do activities together in our free time, such as singing circles, going to a market or concert, spending a day at the beach...
    We provide you with good quality foods to cook your dinner and meals on the weekends as you like.

    You can hitch-hike or walk (or go with your own car) into town, Odemira. There you'll find an organic shop, some clothes, cafes, super markets and most things you might need. From there buses are connected to the surrounding areas and Lisbon.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 236834957431