Learn about the rich history of our 300-year-old home in Malvern Pennsylvania, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 183 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a married couple who runs a wellness center out of our historic home, located in Malvern Pennsylvania. We have two daughters, one of whom, age 23, still lives with us, a dog, and chickens. Our home is listed on the Chester County Historic Home Register because it is documented that George Washington stayed here on September 15th, 1777.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have the opportunity to live in a three hundred year old home and learn about the rich history of our home and the surrounding area, both of which are steeped in American Revolutionary War history and the history of George Washington himself. Not fifteen minutes away from us is the Valley Forge National Historic Park which is worth visiting whether you are a history nerd of just looking for a beautiful place to take a walk.

    If interested, travellers could also learn about living holistically. We run a wellness center out of our home which includes chiropractic care and massage therapy. We are both experienced with yoga, meditation, cleansing, fasting and exercise and would be happy to share our knowledge. We are just as eager to share our knowledge and experiences as we are to learn from others. We hope to learn about other lifestyles and cultures whether that be through cooking, eating, engaging in conversation or other means!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Since moving into a historic house several years ago we have had lots of chores to do both inside our home and in the yard. We would appreciate help such as painting, doing laundry and washing dishes in the home. We also have a large yard that requires upkeep such as mowing the lawn and raking leaves and stacking firewood. In the spring summer and autumn, we could use help in our small organic garden. Tasks could also include feeding our chickens and walking our energetic but very friendly dog.

    None of this work is related to our wellness center which means that travellers will not be doing work related to the wellness center.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Travellers will stay in our guest bedroom, located on the second floor of our home. They will have access to a spacious lounge, large upstairs (and downstairs) porch, and bathroom with shower as well as the downstairs living spaces such as the kitchen and living room. We should note that we are currently using a makeshift kitchen but are planning to remodel it soon. Workawayers are invited to join in our vegan and mostly organic meals and free to eat as many of our organic backyard chicken eggs as they wish! Our wellness center is kept separate from our private home so travellers will not have to interact with patients if they do not wish to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a welcoming home and are excited to meet and learn from people from all different backgrounds. We would like travellers living in our home to be respectful and understanding and we will do the same. We are very easygoing and are so grateful to have the help of travellers!

    On their time off, travellers can easily get to Philadelphia via a forty-five minute car ride or sixty minute train ride. From there, New York City, Washington DC and Baltimore are a short bus or train ride away! We are also close to the King of Prussia Mall as well as other smaller yet adorable towns like West Chester and Phoenixville. Worth noting is our close proximity Long Wood Gardens, the most spectacular botanic garden in our opinion.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 235823672344

Feedback (5)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)