Come and enjoy island life in the paradise island of Jamaica. I am seeking help in our villa



Favourited 295 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    I am the owners daughter Michelle, who virtually manages the property, the property was brought as a family home but since my fathers passing in 2010, the love for the garden, mini organic veggir farm and general handy work has either fallen or simply not up to standard.

    I'm looking for volunteers, ideally 2 at a time, just to help out, bring back life to the property, start your own projects and generate ideas with me to help being back the villa to it's full potential.

    Help is needed in the following areas;

    Fence - Our little dogs have gone, so before we get new ones we need to secure the fencing around the property, ideally Sept 2017

    Painting.. Outside and inside and guys, it's HOT so bring a sun cream and sun hat!we still updating the property, and with a property so large it can seem like it's never ending, someone handy with a paintbrush is always a plus!

    Garden, we have 4 acres of tropical gardens you will be working with our gardener to help plant, and get back our lovely land to what it was.

    Handyman/woman, do you know carpentry? electrics? tiling? Plumbing? or just have common sense? You can help us immensely redoing "dodgy" workman ship that has happened over the years. I would love a bespoke outside shower and also additional artwork and crafts to have around the property.

    Farming, can you farm/plant? The house is no means an eco lodge, but has the potential for someone to at least start and grow their own mini organic farm.

    We're 10mins walk from the town of Ocho Rios, we are in a secure gated environment, you can spend your time relaxing or start a new project somewhere in the garden surrounded by beautiful scenery and tropical birds. We have 3 staff on the property who can teach you the local dialect and you will taste the best home cooked Jamaican meals.

    We also have a school in a remote Jamaican village, if you would prefer to help out teaching, do let me know and this can be arranged, (no Wi-Fi).

    In exchange for this we will over you 3 meals a day, hot showers, Wi Fi, and a comfortable bed in exchange for a variety of help for 6hrs a day, 5 days a week. (Flexible) You are able to explore the island at your leisure.

    We can accommodate up to 5 volunteers at a time for 2 weeks max. Please apply if you are motivated, energetic, cheerful, and up for anything feel free to contact me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jamaica is an amazing country that has been given a bad reputation over the years, If you want to learn more about the food and culture, you will have first hand experience from our helpful staff who will look after you as well cook and teach you the local customs, food and dialect. I am completely new to this, so you tell me what we can exchange and I'll be happy to assist (if possible).

  • Help


    Handy man - Electrics, carpentry, painting &decorating
    Gardening - Start your own organic farm
    Projects - Outside shower, Yoga platform, reading nook, swing, dining table,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    As this is a rental property, volunteer work will be carried out when we do not have any clients. The accommodation will be in the staff area, where you will have access to hot showers, you own room fan room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your free time is your time, your days/hours will be flexible (confirmed at the beginning of each week) We ask if you sign up you are competent and use common sense at all times. We are a non smoking property, however feel free to smoke outside. We do have a pool and tennis court on site that can be used when we do not have guests. We do not allow additional persons on the premises and this is of course a NO DRUG ZONE.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 229241531173