Help taking care of our kids in our horse ranch near Mendoza, Argentina

Country

Argentina

Favourited 978 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    797

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a horse ranch, which is located about 10 km from the city center of Mendoza, in the countryside, at the foothills of the Andes. Mendoza is the centre of the largest wine region in Argentina. It welcomes tourists all year long and offers plenty of activities and touristic attractions.

    Our team loves working with horses in the Argentinian tradition. We offer to the (local & international) tourists horse rides, that end with the typical local barbecues (asados).

    We have about 35 horses, but also dogs, rabbits, pigs and chickens.

    Javier (40 years old, Argentinian) has grown up in this countryside and has worked for the past 10 years offering horse rides. Caroline (38 years old, Belgian) has helped him in his project for the past few years. They both speak Spanish, English and French. They have a 5 year old girl, Emilia, and a 3 year old boy, Diego.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    • Discover the countryside lifestyle
    • Cultural and linguistic exchange (we speak Spanish, English and French)
    • Possibility to ride from time to time (go with the groups to the horse rides)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    • The main task is helping us taking care of our two kids
    • Help us in the daily tasks of the house: maintaining it clean, prepare some meals
    • You will be able to help with the activities of the ranch (feed the animals, help during the horse rides, clean the horses, help the tourists, clean the paddocks, etc)

    We work with volunteers for periods of 2 weeks. We only book 1 month in advance maximum!

    We are looking for dynamic and proactive people!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    • All food and drinks included (except alcohol) during the whole stay
    • Bed in a three-people dorm
    • Shared bathroom
    • We like to run the house as if we were all a big family, and not a hotel: preparing the meals and maintaining the hygiene in the kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms is a shared reponsibility
    • Access to swimming pool (in summer)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    • Is there electricity? Yes, through solar panels (limited use). No WiFi.
    • How is life in the ranch? Preparing the meals and maintaining the hygiene in the kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms is a shared reponsibility.
    • Is there public transportation? We are 3 km away from the closest village and bus stop (the trip to the city centre takes about 20 minutes); from time to time, and when you anticipate it, we can drop you at the bus stop if needed. You can also order a taxi (about 750 pesos to the city center).
    • What do I have to bring? Take comfortable clothes and shoes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5d/week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 228892198776