Stay with our homeschooled kids (10 and 14) and enjoy Italian lifestyle in Piedmont, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 248 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    444

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We welcome workawayers in our house to spend time with our homeschooled kids and teach them something interesting . We live in the North-West of Italy, in a small town in the Langhe & Roero area, a Unesco World Heritage site, well known for its excellent wines and food, surrounded by green hills, vineyards and castles.

    We are 1 hour by car from Turin, 1.5 hours from the mountains (Alps), 2 hours from Milan, 1.5 hours from the seaside (Liguria).

    A few details about our family: I’m Virginia (42, creative director of a web agency), I live with my husband Davide (42, owner of a restaurant) and our two kids: Adelaide (14) and Corrado (10). We firmly believe in cultural exchange between people from different Countries and backgrounds, and we’re trying to bring up our children as citizens of the world. Both our kids are bilingual (Italian/English), so you won't have any communication problems with them. We hosted many aupairs and workawayers so far and we are used to having international guests.

    In general, we are curious people and we love learning about everything (nature, science, arts, history, music, etc). Both our kids are home educated with the “unschooling” approach (i.e. we don’t follow any particular programs, we only pursue our own passions and interests). We also take part in a self-organized democratic school which involves other families like ours, and we would like to involve our guests in some of the activities of the school.

    We are not a religious family, but we're very tolerant about other people's religious beliefs. We have great sympathy for the LGBT community and we welcome same-sex couples. We expect our guests to be as tolerant and open-minded as we are.

    Our kids are very lively, especially Corrado: he likes very much physical activities like walking in the countryside, swimming, cycling, playing outdoors and visiting places. Adelaide prefers other activities, such as theatre, drawing, reading, watching films, listening to music and visiting places.

    Don't hesitate to contact us for any further information!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the possibility to experience the Italian lifestyle and to become part of an Italian family (which involves meeting many relatives and friends, and eating a lot of food!). Besides, if you are a food&wine lover, you will particularly enjoy the Langhe and Roero area, which is well known for its wines and for its cooking traditions.

  • Help

    Help

    We live in the countryside (our house is 5 minutes drive from the nearest town). You won’t be asked any particular housework, apart from cooking for you and the kids, when needed, and participate in the household chores with them. Basically, you will be asked to spend part of the day with Adelaide and Corrado, while we are at work.

    There are indoors activities that you can do with them (playing board games, reading books, watching films or documentaries) and outdoors activities (walking in the countryside, swimming, cycling, playing outdoors and visiting places). In Summer we usually spend the afternoon at the swimming pool, because of the very hot weather.


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have 2 private rooms at your disposal: a small bedroom (bunk bed only!) and a living-room. There are 2 bathrooms in the house (shared with the rest of the family). We have a wi-fi connection.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We expect you to be an outgoing and active person, curious and open-minded, happy to know new people and experience a new way of life, ready to live in a lively and noisy household. You must love children, of course, and be enthusiast to spend a lot of time with them. As long as you are a cheerful and easy-going person we're sure you can spend a great time with our family!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible, depends on the weekly schedule - maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Adelaide during a walk
Our family during a holiday at the mountains
Corrado faces a bear at the Natural history museum
Visiting an old mine
Adelaide and one of her passions: photography
Hyper Corrado
Corrado during a boat trip
Doing "hasado" with our Argentinian workawayer Hernan
Visiting a fortress on the Alps
Like The Beatles... in Pompei ;-)
Our home
Our little town (Santo Stefano Roero)
Fencing practice with our workawayer Collin
Jumping with cousins, at the grandparents' swimming pool
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 226737783172