1 / 4

Help us fix up our country house in the attractive town of Montefalco, Italy

  • Favourited 6 times
  • Last activity: 23 May 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have a country house with a view of the Spoleto valley. It is about 15 minutes walk from the attractive town of Montefalco.
    We are a retired couple originally from New Zealand, but having lived in several different countries in the last 30 years have chosen to settle in Italy. We were both language teachers, so are happy to help anyone attempting to improve their English communication skills. We would appreciate help with our Italian language skills if possible.
    We have recently bought the property and need help renovating a neglected garden. The house is on two levels and we are regurnishing the bottom floor, so there may be opportunities to lay tiles, paint etc. At certain times of year help stacking wood is needed too.
    We are not vegetarians, but we eat a mostly vegetarian diet because we eat what the garden produces. Help preparing meals would also be welcome.
    Our village is small but lively especially when the festival is on in August. There are festivals in nearby villages from May to September. It is about 6 km from the nearest railway station and less than two hours to Rome.
    Towns of interest nearby are Assisi, Bevagna, Perugia, Spello, Montefalco and Spoleto.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a very beautiful, rural part of Umbria. It is possible to take part in olive picking in October/November. Truffles are readily available and there are many wineries that offer tastings.
    As mentioned above there are various festivals as well. A lot of the cultural activities are centred on eating and drinking.
    The villages nearby feature Roman and medieval buildings as well as museums. It is also very easy to make day or weekend trips to either Rome or Florence.
    Personally, we are both language teachers and happy to help learners. We are also enthusiastic cooks and live to teach as well as learner.

  • Help

    Help

    We would appreciate help with basic hard and soft landscaping at this stage of our project.
    Anyone with more specialised skills such as plumbing or carpentry would be a major bonus. But there will also be painting jobs.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Ideally, there will be either a double bed or two single beds and a bathroom. The house is about 200 sqm on two floors. However, renovations are planned. Currently, the room that will be the kitchen is empty. Cartons are stacked in many rooms, but we do expect to maintain two functional bedrooms and at least one bathroom throughout the renovations as we will renovate one floor at a time.
    The house is perfectly liveable but needs updating.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During the spring, summer and autumn we spend a lot of time outside. Like the house, the garden is a work in progress but there is plenty of space to relax in the sun or the shade.
    Winter can be very cold and we never work outside if the wind is blowing. We stay inside and watch films or listen to music. and drink the local wine.
    There is a bus service from the village to the nearby town of Foligno which has a railway connection. But we are also happy to take our helpers to the station if they want a weekend away.
    We are both very fond of art and there is a wonderful museum in the town. One of us is a musician, not me. I’m more interested in the garden and in the winter I knit or crochet. I used to make quilts but not anymor; however, I am happy to share the skills I have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 225778327578

Photos

Feedback