Help with raspberry picking during summer, on a 1 hectare property in North West Tasmania



Favourited 100 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    A small raspberry farm in North West Tasmania. A short drive/2 km walk to beautiful Boat Harbour Beach, voted 9th best beach in Australia, or 10 minute drive to Sisters Beach and the Rocky Cape National Park. Stunning coastline views and great swimming and fishing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities


  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tasmania is an island. To get to us you need to make a 1 hour airplane flight from Melbourne, in southern Australia. Or you could have an overnight trip on the boat/ferry called the Spirit of Tasmania. This is an exciting way to start off an adventure! It's normal in Tasmania for backpackers to travel here to pick fruit or other casual work during some times of the year.

    Our property is situated in a rural, farming area with the local town (Wynyard) a 15 minute drive away with all conveniences available. Wynyard has an airport (referred to as Burnie Airport) and flies 4 or 5 times a day direct to Melbourne. Boat Harbour Beach and Sisters Beach communities are nearby and have an interesting mix of residents and shack owners, and summer is generally a happy and busy time.

  • Help


    We require some help during summer as that's when we have lots of top quality raspberries to pick by hand, plus we have lots of other types of food growing on our property as well (fruit orchard, hazelnuts, vegetables). We like cooking with our produce but are always excited if our Workaway visitors want to cook up some of their own recipes with what we've grown.
    Raspberries are easy to pick and the work is enjoyable. Most fruit can be picked in the morning, leaving the afternoon free to head to the beach and relax, or visit tourist destinations in the area. We also have a few sheep, two beehives and a friendly dog, and a large garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a self contained unit attached to our house. It has a small kitchen, fridge, sink, toaster and some food preparation can be done, but some meals will also be provided by us. It also has a bathroom, toilet, queen size bed and single bed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A large grassed, flat area nearby the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    9.00-1.00 (max 25 hours), 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 225261545263