Help sleeping beauty shine again and enjoy cultural exchange in Boxholm, Sweden



Favourited 63 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    A traveler myself i moved last year from Germany to Sweden. I have a boyfriend who lives in Motala but I wanted my own place to live. I love the idea of tiny houses and sustainable living with little impact to the nature, I love loppis (2nd hand shops and there are plenty in Sweden) and try to avoid plastic. I'm 37 old and still haven't it all figured out ;)

    I try to start a tiny house community and shared living place. To share knowledge, talents and costs of course.
    I like music and play / learn Ukulele, piano and a couple of flutes also I want to get better with poi.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a active workawayer myself and stayed in Canada, Alaska and Sweden. Also a traveler I'm using couchsurfing to meet other people/cultures and love the connections I can make and made in the past. I can share a lot of working/living knowledge from abroad. I lived in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, China and now relocated to Sweden. I have a variety of friends who I can connect you to. Bring your music instrument or poi etc . My place is isolated so noone will complain. Also bbq nights are planned plenty :)
    Nearby are National parks to hike and fish, lakes to swim and a small community. I'm happy to help with German or English language in exchange for Swedish:)
    Internet will only work on your phone with your sim. i dont have wifi at my place.
    My workaway profile search for koerten

  • Help


    I need muscles !! The grass is starting to grow and i have troubles with the land mower (old shoulder injury makes it hard to pull the cord ). In return you can live in the guesthouse where also is space for a small kitchen which is another project. I'm so happy my outhouse turned out so nice - thanks to my workawayer from 2017. So yes, I have electricity and running water in the bathroom but not in the guesthouse or in the main (kitchen)

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️othe priorities 2018 is the bathroom and the attic renovation. So i am looking for mature, skilled people who have knowledge of doing that. Like carpenter etc. Also some electrician skills would be welcome as i will need some wiring in the attic.*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    Other projects will be cleaning up the property: driving garbage from the pre-owner to the close by dump, tearing down a half broken building and remodelling a small guest kitchen. Also the attic insulation has to go to the dump. A patio would be also nice and some vegetable patches....

    The bathroom will need a complete update and the common room a renovation. It smells moldy and i want to look at the piping. Also i need new wooden stoves, so if you are a professional with that you are welcome too.

    As I open my place to people who are interested with tiny house living/building and alternativ/autark energy etc there might be more people around so knowledge can be shared. If you want to just try things like cob building there are plans on building a outdoor kitchen. Whatever you are interested in. If you want to stay long term and build your own let me know! This will be from may 2018.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Accommodation


    My place has some 4,5 houses. The main house with kitchen and living room, guest stuga with 2 beds, shad, half a shad and another building with the bathroom (hot shower) and a bed /common room. You can sleep in the gueststuga or in the common room. Or bring your own tent..we will find something. If you are more than one you might share or not if both rooms are available. I will stay in the main house. Also i will have friends visiting so they will stay in the guesthouse around july but staying in the common room near the bathroom is fine too.
    *️ please let me know if you don't bring your own sleeping bag or towel so I have time to prepare !! *️

    I like cooking and eating organic when I can afford it. If you have chosen to be vegetarian or vegan - it's your choice and responsibility to cater for. If you have food allergies let me know, we can sort it out. Animals are OK but only outside or in your chosen house but you clean in up real good before departure . also no fence (another project) ..... I provide the food on the days you help and I try to make spare time to show you around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Boxholm has a trainstation. Mjölby, Linköpping or Motala (worth a visit) are on the train line as well as Stockholm or Copenhagen.Sometimes it's cheaper to fly into South sweden via Oslo. Or via Copenhagen and take the train from there. Sommen lake is easy to reach and and the river Svartån is short walk from the house which is perfect for swimming, fishing or canoeing. Also Omberg National Park isnt far. I dont know if i'll have bikes on hand. None for now. Your own transport would be great but i can pick you up at trainstation in Boxholm / Mjölby. Also there is ica, coop, apothek and systembolaget and a rather famous cheese factory.
    I have no wifi and use my phone. Phone reception is perfect like halebop but please buy your own sim.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Drywalling in Canada

Host ref number: 222533716521