Small farm in a bucolic setting, in the Willamette Valley, just 4 miles outside of Monmouth, Oregon, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 252 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Imagine yourself on a 5-acre farm that includes several raised vegetable beds, a greenhouse with summer vegetables, a blueberry and raspberry patch, a swimming pond, a fenced pasture for 8 sheep and 30 chickens, many varieties of fruit and nut trees, shrubs and flowers. Sustainability is our philosophy, and permaculture is our approach. This farm is nestled in the Willamette Valley, close to the cities of Salem, McMinnville and Corvallis. We are looking for an independent soul for a several month stay due to Covid. We are currently looking for someone, or a couple, to begin September 21, 2020. Of course, if it's not a good fit, either party can say so. We need help in the planting of crops in Spring. weeding, fence mending, blackberry eradication, monitoring irrigation, brush removal, landscaping are ongoing. July through September food preservation and processing occur. Drying apples, pears, and spearmint. Summer presents opportunties for weed eating, brush removal, and tree pruning. This Fall, you will also be helping to to plant three small persimmons trees and installing a woven wire fence around to keep the sheep out. Planting of Winter greens and garlic happens in August and September. In the Fall we make cider, jelly and apple butter; canning salsas and tomato sauces. roasting peppers and freezing eggplant. Right now, a major project is installing an underground 50 amp electrical service outlet and permanent water line for the tiny house. Soon, you will have use of a full sized electric stove and oven. You would be able to stay in a tiny house on wheels with electric outlets for a toaster oven, microwave, full size fridge, hot water kettle and fans which has temporary 20 amp outlet and cold water. On Summer days the water is warm for about 5 min. There is an 6 burner outdoor grill for your use. The tiny house has a well equipped kitchen with most every utensil and appliance you can think of, a bathroom sink, shower and composting toilet. You have use of a washer and dryer in the garage of the main house. The view from the tiny house is of the garden and small lake that lies beyond. There is an outdoor table and chairs next to the tiny house for your use, and a large picnic table and campsite by the dock. You have privacy. There's also a fire pit in the back yard. The garden landscape photos in the profile are recent. Internet reaches to the outdoor table by the tiny house, but is spotty inside. We could use help to make it more reliable in the tiny house by extending an ethernet cable. The download speed is 60 gps with an ethernet connection.

    Both David and Suzanne have masters degrees, in psychology and community development respectively. David owned a small vineyard and winery for 20 yrs, grew up on a farm, and worked as a social worker. Suzanne has been a farmers market manager, worked for the post office, and built the tiny house. David has two grown daughters, Suzanne has two grown sons, all of whom live and work elsewhere. We are both sources of information on farming, permaculture, gardening, irrigation, marketing, food preservation, and a variety of other topics. Your presence is helpful as we are both in our 60's. The main house has a LARGE, beautiful remodeled kitchen in the great room.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On our farm there is the opportunity to learn the basics of having your own garden and small animal stewardship. We are also canning through out the year and butcher our own meat (in July/August). Our small farm is a good place to gain experience to feel confident to start up your own sustainable natural place. We are adaptive to your level of experience and knowledge. Whether beginner or expert, young or old, we have opportunities for you to contribute, to feel self fulfilled, appreciated, grounded and connected.

    Nature is our mentor. We are all stewards of the earth. There is wisdom in listening to, in observing nature. In nature we grow.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with landscape maintenance and gardening. We are not offering meals with this arrangement because of the tiny house has a kitchen and it's difficult for us to meet the varied dietary needs. You would be welcome to share in the garden’s surplus when we have it. We can give you a ride to town for groceries and on your days off. It's five miles away. Bus transportation is available from Monmouth to Salem and Dallas. Though at this time of Covid, we hope you have a car. We have parking for one car or truck.

    We are friendly folks, live a fairly quiet life, enjoy laughter, love gardening, cooking, music, and meeting new people. One of us is an early nighter as Suzanne works early at the post office. You can set your own break times as long as the determined tasks are completed. Your flexibility in order to get certain tasks accomplished, like harvesting and processing in the same day, is necessary.

    Please let us know your level of experience in agriculture, of your interests and desires, hopes and dreams. If you have them, please provide photos of your Work Away or other outdoors experiences, with you in the photo, of course! Gardening experience is helpful, but not imperative. The desire to help plants grow is. We can teach you about many aspects of small scale farming, animal care, food processing, and permaculture . Skills are a bonus! Please tell us about any additional experience or skills you have! Tell us what you'd like to learn! Running a weed eater or riding lawn mower. weed whacking, cooking, carpentry, wood cutting stacking and splitting. Butchering, cleaning barns, brush clearing. Caring for critters, irrigation, permaculture. Designing labels for value added produce. Learning/practicing your Spanish. Tell us what you love!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be able to stay in a tiny house on wheels, located in a corner of the property behind the main house. There's a small seasonal creek flowing after winter rains arrive and into July. The tiny house has electric outlets for a toaster oven, hot plate, microwave, fridge, hot water kettle and fans. There is also a six burner outdoor grill for your use, outdoor table, chairs, and chase lounge. The upstairs loft includes a full-sized bed, and the sofa folds out to be a full sized bed as well with custom cushions. The second loft is used for storage right now. There is the sofa, a dining or study table, kitchen and bath room with shower stall and plenty of closet space. The food arrangement is that the work away volunteer is welcome to partake of the gardens and the eggs that the chickens are producing. The rest of the meal ingredients are to be bought by the volunteer. There are staples such as oils, spices, teas, condiments, grains, etc. in the cupboards. Boots and work clothes are needed. Bring a hat and light colored long-sleeves with pants to keep your skin protected in the sun. We provide gloves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To the West, we are an hour away from the ocean (Newport, Yaquina Bay), and 30 to 35 minutes west of Salem, North of Corvallis, South of McMinnville. Portland and Eugene are one hour and 15 minutes away. Wineries surround us up and down the valley. The Willamette river is 7 miles. The mountains are an hour and a half to the East, the high desert, obsidian fields, skiing, rock climbing, white water rafting. There is a bus service in nearby Dallas and Monmouth, that serves Salem and then everywhere else.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We ask for 25 hours a week. You are welcome to stay on for the rest of the week in the tiny house lodging.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 221393642299