Help with renovation project plus animals and garden in Finistère, France

Country

France

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A busy couple in our 50s with grown up children we are looking for help with a renovation project plus animals and garden. We live in a small but touristic town in Finistère, rural northwest France. Our household is bi-lingual English/French. Our home overlooks a beautiful lake and we are next door to the forest but in the centre of the town which has bars, restaurants, shops, cafes and so many opportunities to explore nature.

    Our family home is made up of us, our 2 grown up sons plus a mentally disabled adult, our animals: 2 dogs, 2 cats, a guinea pig, chickens, quail, a pet goose and further afield, 2 goats and 4 horses.

    Part of the house is run as a bed and breakfast so there are usually paying guests coming and going which can make for quite a busy, interesting household. You are not required to help with this.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area in which we live is a national park and the Breton culture is everywhere. Unspoilt scenery, very little traffic and lush rural countryside with granite caves and menhirs this particular spot in the Monts d’Arrees is very popular with travellers looking for nature and peace.
    Even though it’s outwardly peaceful there are a huge amount of activities and events you can get involved in if you wish to immerse yourself in the Breton lifestyle.
    If you are looking to improve your French or English language skills then this is a great place to come.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an energetic, sensible person to help Dave with the renovation project a couple of days per week - expertise not needed! Lifting, carrying, sawing, general labour there’s plenty of opportunity to learn about different aspects of renovation work, Dave is a retired professional house renovator. There’s a garden to tame too if you like gardening.

    Help with the horses and assorted animals sometimes needed, Rachael is a keen horse rider and always looking for company to ride out with any of our 4 horses which are ridden bit-less and according to ethology horsemanship. Outside of riding there are sometimes field enclosures to fence out with the electric wire, hay and water to be given but nothing technical.

    Occasional help too with the rest of the animals but nothing heavy or unpleasant.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable bedroom with ensuite bathroom (WC, shower, sink) part of Rachael’s Bed and Breakfast business. All meals provided and eaten with the family, home cooked from fresh ingredients always! It’s a large enough house with space so that you can find a room downstairs for quiet if you need to. No smoking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is great for exploring by foot or off road bike (by horse too!). It’s touristy but never crowded. We have maps and brochures to help you make the most of your free time here. There is a daily bus service to each of the main towns. It’s civilised but not sophisticated!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 216541883761