Gardening and some outdoor projects in San Dorligo della Valle, Trieste, Italy

Country

Italy

new host  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Marco! I am 40 and I am Italian.
    And this is Angela, 51 and Italian-German. Pleased to meet you!

    We recently moved to the small village of San Dorligo della Valle - close to Trieste and the Slovenian border - after a few years spent working in Germany for a well renown videogame company.

    In 2019 we decided to quit our jobs and buy an old rural house in Italy (with approximately 1500 m2 of land). Although the biggest renovation part has already been taken care by a professional construction works company, we're still sanding and painting doors and windows on our own. Taking care of woodworking and gardening at the same time is a bit too much for the two of us, that's why we would love to get some help. The house is very old - the arch at the entrance dates 1763 - and our courtyard has an open view on the seaside, which is just a few km away. Behind the house there's a forest, and the place is a 20 minutes walking distance away from the Val Rosandra natural reserve. Angela and I are friendly and open-minded and we would love to have people from around the world to come and help us!

    We both speak English and understand some French and Spanish. Angela of course speaks a pretty good German as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While having you here as our guests, we will do our best to teach you some basic Italian, if you like, and the DYI technics we learnt ourselves in the past months. If we have the chance to meet in the right season, we might teach you how to recognise the most common mushrooms and how to prepare a nice risotto with our findings! Other than that, you will obviously be free to attend any courses or events you should be interested in.

  • Help

    Help

    We would need help mainly in the realisation of some projects for which we lack competence and/or strength. Please, have a look at the following list and see if there is anything you think you could help us with:
    - Building raised vegetable gardens using stones from an old retaining wall. The stones are already piled up on the plot of land where they should be used.
    - Working the other plot of land we have at 5 minutes from home to plant some fruit trees.
    - Building a wood fired brick oven in the old part of the house.
    - Proceeding with sanding and panting of old doors and windows.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Staying at our house, you will have the chance to enjoy the quiet of an old rural village not too far from the Adriatic Sea. Depending on the period of the year, we can offer you either a single room (approximately 12 square meters sharing our main bathroom) or a double room (16 m2 with private bathroom).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Getting to Trieste downtown takes ca. 30 minutes by bus. The Val Rosandra natural reserve is ca. 20 minutes away by foot and 5 minutes by bike. The forest is right behind our house, whereas getting to the nicest beaches requires a longer ride on the bus. Unfortunately there's no busses after dinner, but we can pick you up if you miss the last one. Of course, you will also be welcome if you want to join us every time we go swimming, hiking or visiting friends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I'd say Internet connection is pretty fast here. In the nice season you can work in the courtyard too, under the shadow of a tree.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 215253813967