Join the crew of the Pirate family and enjoy fun permacultural farming in Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nous sommes une famille avec deux enfants (et bientôt une colocataire et ses deux enfants). Nous avons acheté une superbe ferme à restaurer juste à côté de Bergerac. C'est un fond de vallon orienté plein Sud où coule un ruisseau.
    Nous avons l'écologie et le bien-être à cœur et sommes en voie d'être autonomes alimentairement, et énergétiquement. Nous mangeons de moins en moins de viande.

    Heureux sont nos poules, nos légumes et nos arbres fruitiers, ils se développent librement ! On aime bien essayer de valoriser les bambous et les plantes sauvages.
    Vous pourrez nous aider aux récoltes (plantes cultivées ou sauvages), aux écoconstructions, à l'amélioration de l'esthétique du lieu...
    Venez faire vivre ce beau lieu par vos talents et votre bonne humeur !
    Bergerac est une ville très agréable, de nombreux concerts/événements y ont lieu et c'est une ville très bien desservie.
    Nous parlons anglais, espagnol et un peu occitan
    ____________________________________________________________________________
    English

    We are a family with two children (and soon a roommate and her two children). We bought a superb farmhouse to restore right next to Bergerac. It is a valley bottom facing south where a stream flows.
    We have ecology and well-being at heart and are on the way to becoming self-sufficient in terms of food and energy. We eat less and less meat.

    Happy are our hens, our vegetables and our fruit trees, they develop freely! We like to try to enhance bamboo and wild plants.
    You can help us with harvests (cultivated or wild plants), eco-construction, improving the aesthetics of the place ...
    Come and bring this beautiful place to life with your talents and good humor!
    Bergerac is a very pleasant town, many concerts / events take place there and it is a very well connected town.
    We speak English, Spanish and a little Occitan

    _______________________________________________________________________
    Espanol

    Que venga! Nuestro lugar mola!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with your french, teach you the principles of permaculture, learn some ways to eco-build, to french cook (loads of way to eat cheeses ^^) and to cook with wild plants. We love musique and theater so if you want you will follow us in our outlet. You'll also have the leisure to taste the local beer from the brewery of the farm.

  • Help

    Help

    We try to find our way to be as autonomous as possible. So we need help at the garden to do the maintenance (plantation and cutting grass) and to harvest vegetables, eggs and fruits. We use hands tools when we can.
    We need hands to restore the farm and build small eco constructions (sun dryer, bamboo constructions,...). We'd appreciate as well people with artistic skills to help us improve the beauty of our place.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room (with sheets and blankets) in Jun/ July and camping (tent , hamac or yurt) the other months.
    Anyway shared bathroom and dry toilets.
    We like to share meals and appreciate a hand for it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some bicycles you can use to visit the country around (we are 10 minutes away of the center of Bergerac).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 heures par jour, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 215181251963