Help with permaculture gardening and DIY in the beautiful Slocan valley, Kootenays, B.C. Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 0 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a little more than 11 acres of land (mostly forested), in the beautiful Slocan valley, Kootenays, B.C. Canada. We are undergoing the last phases of our house addition along with our regular activities of gardening and forest management / land care. Our home is fed by the amazing waters of Pedro Creek that flow into the Slocan river. We heat our home primarily with wood heat from our forest. We strive to be sustainable and good stewards of the land. At this time we don't have any animals other than our 2 dogs and cat - we hope to have chickens or ducks at some point. There is much to do in our valley including biking, hiking (near to the Valhalla's), boating, skiing/snowboarding, golf, and sightseeing. We are 90 minutes from Nakusp hot springs, and 45 minutes to Nelson BC. We have many skills here to share including permaculture practices and design, herbal medicines, soil regeneration, wine making, pottery (when the studio is complete), tajiquan, DIY projects and more. We are looking for extra hands to assist with gardening and building projects. A couple would be preferred. Accommodation would be in a tipi with full access to our home and amenities. There is also a wonderful community of people in the valley that we enjoy a connection with.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We greatly honour first nations traditions and strive for sustainable practices with respect to water, land and our forest. As mentioned, we work toward a healthy herbal apothecary (medicinals), permaculture practices, and methods of improving soil regeneration. Wine and cider making involves over 20 years experience as does practice in tajiquan (Practical Method for self defense and general wellness). We hope to get our pottery studio started up soon as well. Also have lots of self-taught experience with woodworking (from chainsaw, to logsplitting, to tablesaw work and finishing).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Some carpentry skill would go a long way.
    Some gardening skills.
    Overall willingness to pitch in with all tasks including making meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a tipi for our workawayers and anything they need from our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...


  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 213474491732