Help on our small family homestead in rural Harvard, MA, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/04/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We run a small family farm in Massachusetts, USA, we are not a commercial operation, just a private homestead. We are a sustainable family that loves to learn, create, and craft.
    We are approximately a 90-minute drive from Boston. We are close to a train network. We would be a great fit for those interested in learning about farming, horses, and homestead skills.

    In addition, we are a family of Martial Artists who teaches classes in a variety of styles. We also enjoy spinning poi, fishing, and kayaking. We can provide kayak use for our local lake.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe strongly in providing our guests with transferable skills that they can use in later life. We can help you with various aspects of farming and sustainability.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of ongoing projects. Our projects vary based on the season and weather. We welcome four to five hours a day of help which will typically include weeding, mowing, painting, cleaning animal enclosures, harvesting vegetables, and clearing wooded areas of leaves/branches.

  • Languages spoken

    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer rough boarding in our workshop. There is a pull-out couch and a TV. We also offer unlimited access to hot water, bathroom, shower, laundry etc. We can provide the use of a washing machine and dryer. We provide all meals and snacks. We cook most meals from scratch. You can enjoy farm-raised eggs and meat. We can assist with transport to the train network should you wish to explore the wider area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can take the train into the city of Boston and enjoy many museums and attractions. There are also many historic sites to view locally. We are flexible with work hours but would like to host for 5-7 days at a time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 211848891868