Come and help us on our farm while enjoying Golf and lots of peace in Waiterimu, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a NZ couple aged 49 and 52. Cathy is a food technologist who works from home via her internet based businesses. Barry is an ex army chef and general maintenance guy who spends his days working on our property as well as making wooden crafts to sell at local markets on weekends.

    We need help with outside work around our small farmlet (1 hectare). We live right next to a country 9 hole golf course so if you are a golfer you can play as often as you like. Our house is off the electricity grid so we rely on solar, wind and a generator. However we have reliable WiFi and mobile coverage.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can take you to local craft markets in Thames and Pokeno where Barry sells his wooden art craft pieces. He also has farmer friends in the area so can visit other locals and have a chat and take part in other farming activities. The golf course has a bar so another chance to socialise.

    We live in an area with no neighbours in sight so if you just want to chill out when not working you can relax in your own company.

    You'll spend most of your work time with Barry - he is very extroverted and friendly so you'll have a chance to talks lots too if that's preferred.

  • Help

    Help

    The type of work would be chopping wood, painting window frames, moving cows, feeding chickens, lighting fires to heat water, mowing lawns, thistle grubbing and other general farm work.

    You can cook and clean inside if you choose but not expected.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in our house but will have your own space. We have a spare double bedroom and another spare room set up as a lounge with couch, TV, book case and desk. (Lounge part is not all set up yet but will be soon).

    We also have a spare bathroom with a shower, bath, washbasin and toilet. The bedroom and lounge have a view over pasture with grazing cows and a chicken house / run.

    We'll cook dinner and lunch and will provide breakfast foods for you to prepare.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 30 minutes from the nearest shops and there is no public transport to our area. If you don't have your own transport we can collect from and drop you at Huntly (nearest town) where the inter-city bus stops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 198852444313