Build, garden, and enjoy life at our 500 year old Basque farm in Bergara, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are two adults and two kids (10 and 6) living on a 500 year-old farm in Basque Country, where we are just getting started on a pretty wide variety of projects. We are a family homestead, currently focused on natural building, organic gardening, taking care of a variety of animals, sustainable forestry, that sort of thing. I (Eric) also do workshops with yoga, breathing, ice baths, sauna, and plant medicine as well. So there is always something to do. The kids are always happy to have playmates, so people with children are especially welcome. We are just starting out, which means that conditions are a bit rustic, but we do have hot water, shower, plumbing, etc. We like to have fun, work hard, and relax when the time comes. Campfires are central to our dinner experience. We are eager to learn, teach, and share, but there will also be times when either or both of us have to go to work off the farm, so you should feel comfortable on your own as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is plenty to learn here about traditional Basque construction, local ecology, different farming and forestry methods, as well as psychology and personal growth. Pretty much everything we do is guided by a desire to live as sustainably as possible, in alignment with the natural forces that guide us both from the outside and within.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Basic willingness and ability to learn are probably the most important things you need. Every day is different here, and there's generally lots of room for people to decide on where they want to focus, based on skills, interest, and mood.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Basque: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This varies, as we are a work in progress. There are spaces both indoors and outdoors to sleep. If you prefer to sleep outdoors, there are tents and mattresses available. If you prefer to sleep indoors, there are various options available. The room may be private or shared. There is a bathroom and kitchen for communal use in the farm. There is also plenty of room to park a camper or van, if you have one.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a natural setting, removed from town. Expect peace and quiet. But it's not too far to walk, bike, or drive easily into town. There is a spare bike or two you can use. There is good hiking around here. The beach is 25 minutes away. Public transportation is good. We are an hour from San Sebastian, Bilbao, and Vitoria-Gasteiz.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Have a decent wifi connection and plenty of space with nice views

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    plenty of space

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 195273189336