Come share experiences and help maintaining my garden while discovering culture in Bursa, Turkey

  • Favourited 29 times
  • Last activity: 20 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    This is a large homestay with fruit and vegetable garden, I'm living alone and need help during the summer months to maintain the garden, watering, collecting, processing fruits and veggies. I'm a retired archaeologist/academician, who loves nature and traveling, not a vegetarian, but cooking mostly without meat. I can provide a nice room with a separate bathroom, a tricycle and Wifi is also available. Iznik where I live is a very nice small, historical, and quiet town (Citta Slow) next to a very large, beautiful lake of Iznik. It's also an hour away from Yalova, Bursa and Inegöl, other attractive large towns. I would also like to have house sit when I'm away. Have no dogs anymore, until I have a permanent tenant or helper, but a cat adopted me. I'm new in here but hosted many HelpX people. I'm accepting hosts for a week or two, and love sharing experiences and stories.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can provide a guided Iznik tour and show them the Byzantian and Ottoman city walls, Roman gates, theater, archaeology museum and Turkish Islamic Museum of Iznik. I can also take them to tile master's workshops, and they can watch and learn about techniques and patterns of the famous Iznik tiles. I can also share Turkish cousine and culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, weeding, watering the vegetable garden, cutting wood for the winter, fruit picking, cooking, home sitting

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large, nice room with a double bed and a private bathroom, including shower. My house have Wifi connection, but not in rooms. The room is clean, full of light and towels and sheets are provided. A washing machine is also available. I provide food for 3 meals, and either cook food or provide necessary material for the guests to cook their food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They can go to town and visit, swim in the lake or go to Bursa, Inegol.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My living room and kitchen have good connection, some rooms gets very weak signals. I'm also using my computer, and we can share work space.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a large area for camping, including a garden WC.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It depends what type of pets they have, we need to discuss beforehand. Large dogs can not be accepted.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 193845266967

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Help out with daily tasks in Ermenek, Karaman, Turkey
Join me and help me maintain my English speaking skills, and learn about Turkish-Cypriot culture, in Ankara, Turkey