Come and learn about a small scale organic farm in Sant'Elpidio Morico, Italy

  • Favourited 80 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are an elderly couple (68 and 70) and have a mixed organic farm. We still grow vegetables, grain, fruittrees, grapes and olives on a small scale. We also have small livestock (9 chickens, 3 goats and 6 turkeys). In this way we provide (almost) completely for our own needs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak quite a few languages (fluently) and have a huge library. We are interested in what drives young people. We love to occasionally have interesting discussions and conversations with the young travellers and we know a lot about agriculture and history. So the exchange might be very interesting mutually.

  • Help

    Help

    We are getting a bit older, and that is why we need your help. Namely for the daily care of the animals (feeding in the morning and closing the pens against the fox and the wolf in the evening) and sometimes cleaning the stables. But also turning the water system for the vegetable garden and fruit on and off, and watering the plants around the house with a water hose. Furthermore, work in the vegetable garden (weeding, harvesting, planting) and pruning the fruit trees and grapes and helping with the olive harvest and the grape harvest. And general maintenance around the house, weeding and mowing grass.

    We prefer to accomodate a couple or 2 friends. Who like to live in a Tiny House together, enjoy a lot of privacy (as do we) and who don 't mind being on their own a lot and cooking for themselves. We have occasional dinners/coffee together, but not on a regular basis. We like people who put their heart into work, show initiative, have a feel for farm-life and are very independent.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate 'Tiny House' A very luxurious fully equiped 2 persons appartment (with kitchen, bath, living area, stove, bedroom etc.) and private outdoor area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have 2 mountainbikes, an ouside hottub, a BBQ, a pizza oven, a huge Firepit. Nearby are lovely villages which you can reach by bike or walking. Not much citylife though ... You have to like the countrylife. The beach is 20 km away, There are busses to the nearby cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very good Wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a concrete parkinglot, with electricity and water.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 189799613188

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.7)

Communication: (5.0)





Adventures in the mountains of the alps in Tiers, Italy
Help me with DIY and experience life in Toro, Italy