Take part to revitalize a farmland in a rural beautiful part of Hong Kong

Country

Hong Kong

updated  

Favourited 203 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ATTENTION: We are at war now against chinese invasion. When you are in downtown you will face brutal police. Transport may shut down. It is safe in our farm though.


    We are a couple with an adorable five years old boy who choose to live in a remoted part of Hong Kong, participate in a community development and farm revitalization programme.

    We aim to show alternative lifestyle to those living in the city. The 1400 sq m of farmland is more for own our consumption, experimental and educational purposes, not commercial farming.

    We are looking for like-minded friends who love nature and wish to experience a sustainable lifestyle in a very unique part of Hong Kong.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We could share our permaculture farming experience, Asian cooking and exchange culture. Our home is located in a UNESCO Global Geopark, plenty of hiking and beautiful nature to enjoy. You may also encounter wild life in the area if you are lucky.

  • Help

    Help

    Farm help like watering and weeding, occasional compost mixing, homemade fertilizers, seasonal seed planting and transplanting. We grow rice, quinoa, seasonal vegetables, ginger, turmeric, herbs, flowers and fruit trees, in eco-friendly ways.

    Farming could be tideous and not-so-fun sometimes. We are working with you and for longer hours than you. Please consider it a different experience and try to challenge yourself.

    We plan to build a bamboo structure for shade, set up an eco pool, a worm farm, bat hut and so much more. We welcome your initiatives and new proposals as we are re-developing the village as an eco-community. We also welcome your opinion and suggestions, please listen first and ask if you are in doubt. We are happy to exchange thoughts.

    We might be away for two or three days each week, thus leave you some simple daily task and housesitting. We will provide ingredients to make your own meal. Please tidy up.

    We love cooking and hope you enjoy our healthy homemade organic cuisine (and we don't like you wasting our food). We would appreciate if you could share some household chore like setting up the table and washing dishes etc. We don't have a maid in the house (although it's a sickening norm in Hong Kong), neither do we want to be your parents nor maid.

    Everyone have to do housework and cleanup, including our 5 years old.

    Please don't bring junk food like soda or chips to our house as we are teaching our kid about healthy diet. Candy, no thanks. Of course, you can have your own snacks.

    Please do not smoke. If you do, stay as far away as possible, outside.

    We don't like plastic, already have overloading amount for keeping and trying to reuse. It's frustrating. Try to bring your own bottle and avoid too much plastic to bring along with you.

    You do not need to babysit our boy but children loving is a plus as he might like to hang around with you and play. He might be all over you sometimes. Decline politely if you feel tired.

    And, you are here to help us...our neighbors have farms too, if you like to help your new friends in the area, please don't walk away from us, finish your stuff with us first.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Cantonese, English, Mandarin, some Japanese and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bunker bed in a private room for two. Our house space is limited. The small Hakka house had been designed for basic sleep and dine but not hang around inside, because we have the wild wide nature outside to have fun.

    Please respect our house rules, such as covering the toilet after use, wearing slippers in house, not putting bags on sofa, saving energy by switching off lights, closing door and shield to avoid mosquitoes and rats coming in. Much appreciated.

    We have 4G mobile signal coverage but NO wifi. Please prepare your internet data. Feel free to ask if you need to make sure which network suppliers work better here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During free time, you may go hiking, visit the coast and explore the area. We are at a UNESCO Global Geopark with beautiful hiking trails, you could enjoy the mangroves, observe the mudskippers, take a stroll at the seaside, enjoy sunrise, sunset, star gazing at night, find a quiet time and space to retreat and meditate.
    You could also read or watch a movie! We do have a reasonable collection of DVDs.

    One public ferry leaving at 9am on Sundays and public holiday. It takes 1.5 hour. The return boat leaves the same day at 3:30pm.

    Another option is to take subway to suburban, then a public mini-bus for half an hour, then HIKE 1.5 hour to our place.

    Therefore if you prefer ferry to hiking, you may consider staying for at least 7 days, when ferry is available.

    There is NO road access.

    You may not see the city, as it takes at least 3 hours to downtown one-way. But it's the place if you enjoy nature.

    If you are a city person and don't enjoy the tranquility, this place IS NOT for you.

    It's a traditional Hakka village with only a few villagers. They may be conservative (not us though) but most are kind. Mutual respect is necessary. Your decent behavior is appreciated. Sunday is busy with tourists but most of the time tranquil.

    If you feel that the energy here is not what you are looking for, or you are not used to the environment or atmosphere, and unable to go on, give us a heads up before you go. It's okay if you need to leave earlier than planned or if you wish to stay longer, keep us informed as early as you have decided. We need to plan our manpower way ahead. We are grateful to the help of the volunteers and you are a free spirit. If we feel something not right, we'll let you know asap.

    It's unfortunate that workaway hide all negative comments, we can't do anything to no-show without notice for instance, and if you disappeared, we would be very worried about you. Let us know if you suddenly cannot make it, be a responsible adult.

    SERIOUSLY
    We hope you read everything we wrote. They are important to consider if you find yourself suitable.

    Please write about why you like to help in our farm.

    We have additional condition for request from Denmark, Japan and Norway. Please write to us first.

    We have catered many prince and princess who think that this is a free place to stay, keep using our internet for job searching (Katya), expecting us serving them (Marco), showing little initiative and exploiting us, spoiling our workplan by early leave (David the Czek) one because of weed withdrawal symptoms resulting in hypersensitivity and paranoia (Lucas the Dutch). It is bad that the workaway site did not show our feedback to them, for host protecting themselves by reading negative reference. Workawayer pays so the system favors them. We get tired parenting our kid already and unwillingly parenting workawayers.

    Your stay is conditional to how helpful you are and how considerate you are in this communal living environment. We have on-going requests. Please don't make us to ask you leave earlier in the hope of next more helpful volunteer. We are very unwilling to do that, but have to do so when we feel used and exploited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.0)















































Host ref number: 186933494466