Horse and Family Life in the Northeast Capital of Archeological Sites in Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 318 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    102

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife Jessica and I (Henry) are an international couple with our first child, living in the North of Peru. Henry is a medical veterinarian by trade, specializing in horses. Jessica has her education in preventative wellness and is a stay at home Mom raising our daughter.

    The list of tasks (below) that we need help with is extensive. If you don't have all, or even some, of the skills necessary that is okay. What we are looking for most in a volunteer is willingness to be flexible, ability to be a self starter, desire to learn and overall helpful attitude that fits within a rural family lifestyle.

    We just purchased our first home and property in the village of Montevideo, which is a small village approximately 1.5 hours away from Chachapoyas.

    Notes:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we ask all potential volunteers to do a Skype meeting. This helps YOU get to know us, and US to know you more. If you don´t have Skype we can communicate via Whatsapp also.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ both you and I reserve the right to quit the volunteer agreement at any time and for any reason. For this reason we ask all our volunteer to have a back up plan.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope our volunteers will learn tolerance of different cultures and ideas, the ability to be creative in new situations, practice their Spanish skills, and learn about the Amazonas Region of Peru through travel and inter-personal exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned above we live in a rural, small village, approximately 1.5 hours from the city of Chachapoyas.

    Everything listed below is in its beginning stages. Also, remember if you don't have all, or even some, of the skills necessary to help us with the below tasks, that is okay. What we are looking for most in a volunteer is willingness to be flexible, ability to be a self starter, desire to learn and overall helpful attitude that fits within a rural family lifestyle.

    Horse Needs:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Photo sessions in real horse expeditions in Peruvian farming communities
    *️️️️️️️Route development / maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Documentary development
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️First aid training for rural communities
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Farriery practice and training for rural communities
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Taming and natural horse training
    *️️️️️️️️️️Digital design development for educational material
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Equine vet assistance or Equine vet practice (castration)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Grant writing, Marketing and Networking applied to our sustainable and infrastructure project development
    *️️️️️Saddle and equipment maintenance
    *️️️️️Feeding, grooming and exercising of horses

    Domestic Needs:

    *️️️️️️️Cooking
    - meal planning
    - preparing lunch and dinner for entire household
    - batch cooking (breads,sauces, pizza, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️Home cleaning / organizing
    - deep cleaning 1x per week
    - superficial cleaning daily (such as dishes, sweeping, mopping, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️Animal care
    - feeding chickens and/or dogs
    - cleaning out chicken coup
    - exercising and/or training dogs

    Building / Maintenance (we will be working with natural materials as much as possible, if you know or have experience in natural building please let us know!)
    *️️️️️Compost
    *Gardening
    *️️️️️Round pen for horses
    *️️️️️Stables for horses
    *️️️️️Chicken coup
    *️️️️️Building up home
    *️️️️️Electrical work
    *️️️️️Plastering walls

    Land:
    *️️️️️Clearing of community paths
    *️️️️️Preparing land for plants (both domestic and rural)
    *️️️️️Pulling weeds / removing stones
    *️️️️️Harvesting

    Take Note:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Smoking is not permitted. We do not permit volunteers that smoke (weed, cigarettes, pipe tobacco, cigars, cigarillos or the like). Sorry, but past volunteers have ruined it for all of you.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Everyone contributes to the purchase of toilet paper.

    Schedule:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We work by targets, not hours per day. Target schedules will be discussed with each individual volunteer based on our needs and your abilities.

    -We cannot be held liable for any accidents that occur during your time with us, or while traveling to/from our location.-

    Thanks for reading and we hope to hear from you soon!

    ~ Henry and Jessica

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    United Stated English and Peruvian Spanish (Castellano)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Compensation:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️3 meals daily
    - any snacks or specialty foods outside these 3 meals are purchased by YOU
    - only breakfast is provided on your days off.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Shared bedroom
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Hot shower

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having a basic knowledge of Spanish will be helpful when navigating your way to the North of Peru. Fluent Spanish knowledge is not necessary, but volunteers have reported feeling safer and more confident knowing at least the basics for getting around on their own.

    Our area is considered the Northeast capital of archeological sites...so there is a lot to see in your free time. There are plenty of day or multiple day trips depending on what you want to see. Most sites will require paying for transport.

    We are at an altitude of approximately 8,000 feet (2,400 meters) and I would describe the weather as 'mountainous' meaning, when the sun is shining it is hot, when there are clouds it is cool, and night can require long pants, shirts and an extra blanket. This of course all depends on the climate you are coming from, and what you are used to.

    Rainy season is December - April please come with appropriate clothing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

attraction: pueblo de los muertos











Host ref number: 186854539992