Help us to finish our cabin in the woods and enjoy nature life in Healy, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3. Mom and dad and adult daughter. We have been building our Alaskan dream cabin for 7 years. Last year it was completed enough that our daughter lived there all winter. Now we want to make some upgrades, arctic entry, Sheetrock and trim and paint. These tasks have been completed but we expect to put together another list for 2021. I think we will be building several smaller buildings ( imagine a 15’ wood yurt). We built 1 this year in 2 days, how exciting!

    We have travelled for business (construction) all over the world for 25 years so we are familiar with many cultures. We have found the upside to every country we have visited. We understand this can be difficult for visitors so we strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.
    We are happy, fun loving, humorous, sometimes lazy and we love to sit around the fire and dream out loud to each other. We do work hard sometimes but we also relax frequently.

    We see animals every day. Moose are frequent visitors to our property although seldom actually at the cabin. Foxes, lynx, ptarmigan, grouse, ermine, hawks, jays, squirrels, caribou, beavers and more. Once, about 6 years ago we saw a bear track, but NEVER any bears. We have never seen a wolf or a wolf track near our property.
    Many of the Iditarod teams train their dogs in our area so don’t be surprised if they run by. As summer draws to a close the northern lights can be dramatic and spectacular.
    We are located near Denali National Park. We visit the park at least once each year to see the animals and scenery.

    We have a small dog, his name is Redd and he loves visitors. We have a small cat, her name is Truffles and she hates visitors. We have a hive of bees that my daughter takes care of, to date, she has never been stung, never. We picked up a new dog this summer. Her name is Ripley. She is a bit of an attention hog.

    We have planted a garden which we hope to eat from, morels which we hope to be coming up every spring and we have planted many, many, many indigenous wild flowers in the area to promote the bees.
    It is truly a wonderful place, come visit, we are sure you will be happy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lived in many (30) states over the years. We are familiar with meeting new people and fostering new friendships.
    We have lived in all of the following countries at one time or another:
    Estonia- twice-one of our favorite places in the world is Tallinn
    Latvia- Saldus is a small inviting town with very nice people
    Poland- lived in Chelm for a month and loved the people and history
    Germany- my wife lived there as a child
    Morocco- lived by the ocean and worked in the desert, again, wonderful people
    China- did not enjoy the huge city I lived in but the culture and people were great.
    Martinique- gives Tallinn a run for its money, my wife loved swimming with turtles.
    Korea- beautiful city by the sea with nice locals
    Canada-a couple of times, once remote and once in Q city. Remote folks were nice.
    England- loved the place but got tired of mushy peas.

    We have visited Rome, Cancun, St. Lucia, Austria, Czech Rep, Scotland, Wales, Russia, Sweden, Finland, Amsterdam, Jamaica, Bahamas, Belize, Lithuania and Hong Kong and probably a few that we are forgetting today.
    The point is, we love people and cultures. We enjoy trying to immerse ourselves in other places and learning what we can from the locals, this is our chance to give back and maybe, just maybe, learn something ourselves.
    This area has a lot of European visa holders working in and helping the local economy, they have a large footprint in this area. Visitors should be able to feel right at home, almost.

  • Help

    Help

    Presently we are not hosting again until next spring. Feel free to contact us but, yes, we are not hosting Until then.
    We will be doing many things:
    Our cabin is small, just 18 x 20 with a loft.
    Next year we will build more housing for our daughter and visitors. We built a practice building this year and are very excited about the results.
    Very light gardening and yard maintenance, mostly just cleaning up after ourselves.
    We are not seeking carpenters or skilled tradesmen although they are welcome. We are looking for adventurous friends willing to try and maybe learn new skills. You don’t need to be tough or hardened although that may make life easier. You do need to be able to smile, make fun of yourself (and others), and pet my dog when he comes calling.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My wife and I purchased a canvas tent 6 years ago and have stayed in the tent for 2 months each of the last 6 years. We take it down each year and clean it so it has no mold or mildew. This year we will finally occupy the cabin.
    Our visitor(s) will have the tent located about 50’ from the cabin. We have a carpet that we lay down on the ground. The bottom of the tent has a vinyl section that folds in to keep water out. We have never had water in the tent. The tent is 10’ x 12’ and we cover it with a large blue tarp to help keep it darker for sleeping and to allow a covered exterior entry as well as help shed water. The tent can have an elevated queen mattress (bed in a box memory foam) or 2 smaller mattresses depending on the visitors. My wife is a girly girl. She did fine in the tent and misses those days when we are away.
    We have electricity to the site so we usually use a smaller electric heater to keep the tent warm at night as well as provide lighting or charging of electronics. We have 3 electric heaters if needed. We have never used more than 2 in late September. We have always used sleeping bags and sometimes an extra blanket which we have plenty of and are most willing to share. And pillows, we have lots of pillows. We have extra throw rugs for inside and outside of the entry. We provide everyone with a flashlight for nighttime visits to the bathroom. There is a solar shower for your use but we usually shower in town when we go. It feels like such a luxury. This year we purchased and used an on demand heater for showers. Now we live in luxury. We use water captured from the roof and only use bio friendly cleansers.
    We have an outdoor bathroom. It is 4 feet wide, 8 feet long and 8’ high with a door. Not a bad setup. I take care of the bathroom, don’t worry about that. Most of us wander away to go #1 but save #2 for the bathroom.
    We will provide all meals taken at the cabin. If you go out to town alone or whatever you will have to figure that out.
    We have coffee or tea in the morning and usually some sort of meal, sometimes cereal, or toast or even a big affair with potatoes and bacon...but usually only on the weekend. Lunch is usually something my family dreams up. Might be soup or sandwiches or burgers or pasta or whatever but enough to fill you up so you can take a nap. Dinner is usually a bigger deal with my wife doing the bulk of the cooking. She is a great cook. She is gluten free but I am not so we can be pretty flexible. Access to food and drinks is 24/7 so don’t be shy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent exploring locally on foot or on a 4 wheeler. There are many places to explore. There is a large river near that can be walked to but is a long walk. The river has grayling and pike for sure and some say salmon and others although I cannot guarantee.
    There are a couple of decent sized towns within 25 miles that can be driven to by car. We will have a car and can take you to town if needed for whatever. We usually go to town at least once a week, at least.
    Denali National Park is less than 1 hour away. We need to get you there if you are interested.
    The Stampede trail, where Chris McCandless met his demise is also near.
    Fairbanks is less than 100 miles so we will probably go there at least once during your stay.
    We do not use alcohol or legal marijuana, but we do not forbid their use. We only ask that you be respectful and clean up after yourselves. Please wait until the workday is complete then, as you wish.
    There is a walk in Air BnB near our place so there may be some foot traffic although most just go around our place. The dog lets us know when someone is coming.
    We don’t walk around with guns but usually have one somewhere in the event that it should be required. Never needed one yet. The less afraid/more familiar you are with firearms the better but seriously, don’t let that stop you from visiting. My daughter is not a fan of firearms but understands the responsible use of and storage of firearms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a cell booster that my wife and daughter use for internet. They are always doing stuff and we watch movies most evenings so it must work fine.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are willing to try just about anything, but the pet needs to like other pets. Our dogs are very social so a social dog would be great. Our cat hates everyone so....don’t worry about her, she hides inside.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, Maximum 5 days a week

I love how these little mushrooms 🍄 look!
Me building some stairs to access the loft.
Our daughter and Ester (from Workaway) getting ready to catch some grayling in the local creek
Ester’s last day with us so we took a pic to remember her by.
Walls and roof are placed on the mud room in this pic. It is now done and doubles as a pantry.
We put some Sheetrock on the walls, painted and then put rough cut lumber on the ceiling. Looks great.
Dogs are playing as always.
Bees! We have bees!
Moose on the road at Denali Park. He just would not get off the road
Prepare yourself for many evenings sitting around the fire, snacking and telling each other lies.
Bridge over the Nenana river just a few miles from the cabin.
Kathleen and Nick on one of our many trips to Denali. We can often see the mountain from near our house but just cannot miss going to the park every year. Maybe this year you can go with us?
Last year we had my father in law and my son come to help with the cabin. We made a huge amount of headway. It was glorious to get to spend a few weeks with some of the folks we love the most. We missed some others but they all have a standing invite, as do you.

Host ref number: 184617835839