Help on a goat farm and eco-restoration project at the foot of the Lyngen Alps, Norway



updated   Last minute

Favourited 672 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    March 2020:

    Due to the Corona virus, we currently only accept volunteers who are already in North Norway.

    We need people to help out during the ongoing renovation of our old farm house and a small cottage.

    We need someone to cook for us while we work.

    There are no animals at the farm at the moment, apart from Leo the cat. We are preparing for bringing them back in the fall.


    Here is our story:
    In December 2016, our family bought an old farm that hadn't been in operation for a while. Now we have goats, horses, chicken and cats. (Our horses and chicken are currently elsewhere until we have built the new stable and chicken coop). Now our organic and sustainability development project has begun at one mountain farm with buildings in need of restoration and a coastal farm with no buildings and strawberry plants. We aim to try various organic, environmental-friendly and innovative ways of operating a farm in harmony with nature, and in time produce everything we need. The long term goal is to be off-the-grid. Any idea may trigger activity. :-)

    We aim to utilize as much of the farms's natural resources as possible, and only buy other material when necessary.

    Volunteers will have food, accommodation and clothes for helping around provided for free.

    Due to being in a critical phase or establishment where things have to happen within a given time, we accept volunteers with at least some experience, who have learned to take care of themselves, have good personal routines and are able to contribute to the team in a positive way. Building up a project like this involves physical tasks, and you need to be fit for the tasks at hand, or be able to build up the strength while you are here. You also need to have a good command of the English language to be able to understand instructions and communicate well during teamwork.

    The farm is located in a valley at the foot of the Lyngen Alps in North-Norway, with abundant opportunities for hiking, skiing and horseback riding. Not far from here is a husky farm who offer tours. Midnight Sun in the summer and Northern Lights in the Fall and Winter.

    No smoking & no tobacco policy on the entire farm, not at all, in any form, or anywhere. If you smoke, you need not apply.

    We do not serve alcohol in our home, and do not want alcohol consumption on our property. What you do when you're off the farm, we don't mind. Just as long as you show up for work sober and with a clear head. :-)

    We currently do not host vegetarians, vegans or anyone requiring special diets, as we do not have the capacity to make special provisions during the establishment stage.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    "Muscle tasks": Organic farming, recycling, harvesting resources to use on the farm, felling trees and demolishing & constructing buildings and structures, how to use tools, safety while performing tasks, language and caring for animals.

    "Household help": Various kinds of cooking, including non-vegetarian, vegetarian, raw food, harvesting and using local resources.

    "Brain work": Project brain storming and idea testing. People with the right skills will have opportunities in this field when we are through the bulk of the establishment stage.

    "Language": You will have access to our online language resources to learn Norwegian.

    "Cultural Exchange": We are LDS (Christian), and welcome people of any religion and nationality for an interesting experience learning from each other, expanding our horizons.

  • Help


    In general, getting the farm up and running after many years of stillstand. We moved here and took over in December 2016, and pratically everything needs fixing and replacment. Then onwards to the project, which includes several new structures and nutrient resource management (sustainability).


    1) We need someone to feed us, so cooking and taking care of the household is an important task.

    2) Animal care. Milking, feeding, cleaning the stables. Producing woodchips. Fencing.

    3) Infrastructure: Bushes and trees have taken over, so here is quite a bit to do to clear fields and farm roads, hiking trails etc.; felling trees, clearing bushes, producing firewood, woodchips and timbre for building things. We have a sawmill, wood machine and chipping machine and are able to do all these things on the farm.

    4) Summer season field help, harvesting and strawberry picking.

    5) Demolition, construction & renovation; Tearing down parts of buildings, setting up new structures, repairing parts of building structures, fixing all buildings and getting all functions up and running. Building chicken coop, outdoor shelters for horses, goats and small animals, a stable, storage sheds, fencing etc..

    6) Fixing of farm vehicles and machinery in winter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English, German

  • Accommodation


    We have two farmhouses, of which the old one is used as accommodation for our guests. It needs some fixing, but the bedrooms on the second floor are quite all right. It has two stories, five bedrooms, a kitchen, livingroom, bathroom and washing room. There is also a cabin and the possibility of camping out in a camping trailer, tent or snow cave or earth hut. Take your pick, or try them all! :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm farm is located in a high valley at the foot of the Lyngen Alps, with ample opportunities for outdoor exploring and activities both winter and summer! The small metropolitan city of Tromsø is an hour's drive away, and there are swimming pools and alpine skiing slopes with ski lifts one to three hour's drive in either direction. Free riding on pristine snow is possible on most mountains in the area. Berries, herbs and mushrooms can be harvested and munched directly from the plant in the summer and fall. has listings of organized and independent activities in our region. We have a climbing wall in mind, so if you would like to help create one, or create other leisure activities on and around our farm, you may very well get to try something out in that area, too.

    Sand farm is located on the coast on the Malangen peninsula. This is where we will experiment with plant production, including strawberries, potatoes, grain and forestry. There is a sea house in dire need of renovation. Sand is located about an hour's drive from the farm and from Tromsø.

    We currently have only goats and a cat. Horses and chicken are elsewhere, since we don't have proper buildings for them yet.

    Public transportation in the form of (rare) buses. Most people here drive around by car.

    We trust our workers to keep track of their own time and coordinate their days off with the other volunteers, so that there is always enough people on duty to take care of the animals and tasks in a good way. Volunteers are in charge of making something out of the ample food we provide (cooking/baking/meals), keeping the household in order, clean their work clothes, boots, rooms and bed sheets and do their own laundry. When everyone contributes, this works very well and everyone's happy.

    We are generous people and share what we have. We do not abuse our workers and ask the same in return.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 184425174662