Care for 9 heritage horses, or Ranch House projects in Tucson, Arizona

Country

United States

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Current Opening: I have openings for August 2019 and following into 2020. We have a opening for one, two volunteers, or a couple with Ranch or Stable Experience Preferred...

    In PRIORITY ORDER:
    1. Rare Horse CARE/Natural Horsemanship/Parelli TRAINING:

    Care for (and possibly train endangered Spanish Barb or Colonial Spanish horses in natural horsemanship. Less than 300 remain and I dream of saving them from extinction. They traveled on ships to North American and Mexico, in the1700's. . I can share their magnificent history and behaviors with you. They are sweet, patient and love people.

    (Nanette, my winter volunteer, and Savannah, my summer volunteer worked a split day, rising early and finishing in the early evening. This cared for the horses, with blocks of time to hike,swim and explore Tucson in between).

    2. RANCH PROPERTY IMPROVEMENT: Put your building, landscaping or remodeling skills to work! The animals are currently asking for: outdoor horse shelters, a real chicken coop, If you have 'skills' there are small projects waiting for you!

    or

    3. HELP WITH OUR OTHER WORKAWAY-ERS: Let your cooking skills shine feeding hungry volunteers. Help us by supporting general house cleaning and laundry, which would be awesome for us hot and dusty cowgirls!

    The RANCH: Our goal is to: work hard, take pride in our work, show kindness, create new adventures and to have fun. Open two way communication is key and we talk regularly about expectations. We give grace, and work to help others before they ask for help. We live healthy, yet make room for indulgences. Vegetarians bring your favorites recipes. We are healthy, wholesome and happy. No over-serving, hookups, drugs or smoking are welcomed.

    Some days we will do special projects together. Bring your arts/crafts projects!
    *My promise is to do what I can so you can check off your top area 'must sees', and for you to make good memories here in the the desert Southwest,

    ME: I'm an adventuresome, lifelong learner with lots of interests. Im a hardworking senior looking for help. I take care of all 9 horses myself - and need more hands at the ranch so it looks and works well for visitors. My degrees are in Environmental Studies, Anthro and Marketing. I prefer a healthy lifestyle and love ethic foods. I eat organics in season. I paint, like hiking, upbeat movies, the water, volunteering and natural history. I've lived in B.C., and 'workawayed' with Christian NGO's, living 6 months each in Oxford and Kenya..

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The host ranch is 2 miles from Tucson, a world UNESCO City of Gastronomy and Festival city, set in the Sonoran Desert. There is lots to see and do; arts, culture, music, sports, and regional foods. Tucson offers a constant flow of events.

    OUTDOORS: Recreation here is year-round with lots of hiking and biking trails, colorful sunsets, historic destinations and our Sky Island" habitat on Mt. Lemmon. Or, just relax and practice siesta.

    WEATHER: Summers are HOT, and Fall is WARM so we work with the weather. Our heat is dry, and so most work is in the mornings and early evenings, as both are shirt-sleeve weather year round. Tucson has 300+ sunny days annually and we get just 1 snow day a year! Winters are very mild and sunny.

    WILDLIFE: The ranch is mostly native habitat and busy with wildlife. Listen to coyote choruses and maybe see - a beep-beep, road-runner.

    SPEAK EQUINE? Small family groups of horses can provide lessons about equine social order and communications. See stallion communication and behaviors. All training is horse-centered, humane and we use only natural horsemanship and Parelli training principles and techniques.

  • Help

    Help

    HORSE WORKAWAY RESPONSIBILITIES: All training is for Western trail horsemanship. Your experience with green horses is a plus! Your experience with or training using Parelli or Natural Horsemanship...would be AWESOME!

    MUST HAVES: Four Years paid work experience in any job or industry.

    Your look for ways to improve the horses' lives and your attention is to provide for their comfort and care. Their welfare comes before anything else. Your notice each horses' condition, and fcan treat small injuries. Working alone is just as rewarding as working as a team. You love spending time with the horses just hanging out, or grooming, walking or playing with them. You can catch and lead horses with confidence. Completing tasks without reminding, and starting new ones is easy once you know what is expected. You really love the physical work required for ranch life (ask any questions you have about horse duties).

    Bring/Plan a CREATIVE PROJECT: Come paint a sunset or work mosaics. Dive into projects with creative potential: Decorate a Desert Tortoise burrow, Hen Coop, design the Courtyard for lounging. - If you have skills, I can find a way for you to put them to good use!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMMODATIONS:
    COOKING: Everyone is welcome to cook in the kitchen or help with meal preparation. Breakfast and dinner is provided for you. Snacks and lunch salads, sandwich preparation ingredients are free choice. The pantry and kitchen is available 24/7 for you. We stock most foods that you like or ask for, or you can shop with me for foods you especially want as we have lots of grocers to choose from.

    The "Long Stay" bedroom suite is huge, with a king bed, (and a single bed if 2 friends travel together) You have heat (not needed!) and a/c controls plus a ceiling fan. Your bath is tile shower over tub with dual basins. The closet is huge. You have a chairs, sofa, and a full-size refrigerator with freezer and microwave.

    The "Short Stay" bedroom across the courtyard is comfortable with its double bed, desk/table, side chair and walk in closet. You have a comfy chair, desk, a mini-fridge and microwave. There is a ceiling fan for comfort, and ypur private tiled bath is next door, with a tile shower over tub.

    If you travel in a RECREATIONAL VEHICLE, you will be have with fresh water, an electric outlet and a concrete pad to park on. There is FREE black/grey water dumping 4 miles away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A great web site to look at is: , or the Tucson Weekly.

    TRANSPORTATION: Your own transportation will give you the greatest freedom, but Uber and Lyft are available. I can drop you off at the nearest bus station in Tucson, 2 miles away, if needed. We will likely do some local travel together and I can play tour guide.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 -5 hours a day, 5 days a week with flextime available


Host ref number: 181916121129