Help us with childcare and enjoy hiking, biking and exploring in the Mountains in BC, Canada



Favourited 191 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Availability for fall and winter.
    If you are looking for an authentic small-town Canada experience to add to you travels, our Funk family would love to welcome you into our home and our lives. By this I mean become part of our family. Eat together, camp together and of course hike and explore together!

    We would love for someone to join us this fall.

    We live in Valemount a beautiful village located in the Robson Valley, this area is amazing if you are into photography, hiking, skiing, snowboarding and adventure. As a bonus we are an active family, who wants you to join us on our many adventures! You really haven’t experienced Canada until you’ve fished on our clear blue lakes, hiked a mountain trail and eaten wild raspberries, seen the tallest mountain in the Rocky Mountains, Mount Robson.

    About us, my name is Heather and I am single mom and like many Canadian single parents, I work full time, the things I need help with are not hard or at all. It’s the little things that i really appreciate, having someone home to get my kids off to school, dressed for the weather, with lunches and backpacks with them, light house work, laundry, and maybe some meal prep, just your normal family things.
    The Summer is spent bike riding, swimming in the pool and keeping the girls entertained.

    Now a little about my kids, Austin is 21 and home for a year, then back to University. I also have two young daughters who are very close and self entertaining, they are both with me full time, spending 2 weekends a month with their Dad. Lily-Belle 11 and Brianna who is 9, both girls are self sufficient.

    Plus living so close to Jasper we do make regular trips to Jasper National Park to go skiing at Marmot Basin, hike the trails or just enjoy the animals we see as we drive there, winter driving if you haven’t done it before is really something best experienced from the passenger seat, but it really is a breath-taking drive with so many beautiful places to take photos along the way.

    Our home is a great place to take a little time and really get to know what a Canadian family is like, its not all tourist stops, and rushing to the next big thing, its taking things slower, checking out local sights like waterfalls and places you’d never hear about on a tourist map, enjoying the little moments of what this country is truly like.

    Another advantage to staying with us is you are mostly required for a couple hours after school. So if you are visiting on a working holiday Visa, Valemount has quite a number of part time jobs you could apply for, this could be a good way to still see and enjoy the mountains and save up for the next part of your adventure ( You would want to commit to a couple of months if looking to stay and work)

    During the spring, summer and fall my parents are building their house nearby if you want to learn new skills or put your carpentry skills to use you are more then welcome to help out but not a requirement of staying with us.

    Lastly, I do request only female applicants. I am just more comfortable with that, I do currently have only one room and one bed, but if you are travelling with another female friend and you are willing to share a bed or someone camp out on the floor, two people are welcome to stay with us.

    With Covid-19 we request that you take all the precautions that you can prior to arriving at our home. So far at this time our little village has had no cases.

    Hope to hear from you soon!
    The Funks

    My reply rate is low as I don't reply to men who haven't read requirements of staying with us... :P

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be fully welcomed into our home and treated as part of the family. You'll experience laid back Canadian lifestyle and culture and share with us your culture. If you arrive in the summer months you will join us on camping trips and hiking and seeing the beauty of British Columbia. In the winter months we can take you to the ski hill in Jasper, explore Maligne Canyon (you'll need sturdy winter boots) and you can experience the beauty of winter in British Columbia. Valemount has a brand new Mountain Bike Park (unfortunately we don't have a good mountain bike to borrow should this be a passion of yours please bring your bike, or you can rent one to play on the trails)
    I work for the Visitor Information Centre so I can share all the best things to go see and do!
    I have a tandom (two-man) Kayak and the kids have their sit on top kayaks so we would be able to take you out and kayak on the smaller local lakes.
    We can hike to Kinney Lake as well as the shorter hikes into see the local waterfalls.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Fall/Winter/Spring Child Care Wanted
    Afterschool care and a couple hours in the evening during the week while I run my Girl Guide Unit.

    Summer Child Care Required
    8:00am to 7:00pm
    Making sure the girls have breakfast, get dressed and Play outside in the yard/pool

    Duties include: leaving my house as messy as you found it!
    Cooking meals with anything you find in my cupboards (your welcome to eat the junk food while the girls aren't looking! I do)

    We would love that you enjoy spending time out doors, (my house is messy enough already!) non smoking, some first aid experience would be great but I can show you how to put on a bandaid and administer an epi pen (that one's not a joke) We are a a peanut free home due to allergies!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom, so you will have your own space and privacy. The bathroom is shared with the rest of the family. We do have Internet so you will be able to stay in touch with friends and family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the summer i work at the local Visitor Information Centre, so I can help share with you all the hikes or local walks you can enjoy.
    I travel to Jasper National Park a couple times a month so I am able to take you there to see the sights. Jasper also has a few hostels that you can make arrangements to stay at should you want to stay and explore Jasper Alberta.
    Our Village is quite small so everything is within walking distance. We also have a bike available should you want to ride, The local Mountain Bike Park has recently been completed so if you are an avid mountain bike rider bring your bike! Should you want to take hikes that are farther then town I can drive you to the trail heads and make arrangements to pick you up after your hikes.
    We have tents and camping gear should you want to hike and camp while you are staying with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.3)

Host ref number: 181753644156