Help creating a food forest and vegetable garden in Carrickmacross, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Siolta Chroi is near Carrickmacross in Co. Monaghan. We have created a permaculture / regenerative agriculture space and Eco System Restoration Camp. It is a space for people to regenerate themselves and wider nature. We are very interested in building a community. We would love to welcome people to come and stay for a minimum of 6 weeks, but we are open to others also.
    My name is Gareth, I live with my partner Karen and our beautiful daughter Lily who is 3.
    We have both worked all over the world and love meeting people from different cultures. If you have any other question just ask.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is very rural so you have the beneifit of peace and quiet. But we just one and a half hours north of Dublin. Regular bus service I commute 3 days a week if you want to visit Dublin. There is a famous Irish poet from very near called Patrick Kavanagh if you are interested in poetry.

    You will learn about permaculture and natural design. Karen is a yoga teacher and am sure you could get a lesson or two.

  • Help

    Help

    We are building a food forest and a vegetable garden so this would be the main focus of the help. The area is 1.5 acres. We have chickens and alpacas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an old farm house that we have done up. The property is 3 acres altogether. You will stay in the house with us. You will have a spacious room with an ensuite and shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Carrickmacross is a small town with a population of a couple of thousand. There are pubs restaurants and a nightclub. There are shops etc. We are 1 and a half hours from Dublin and from Belfast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 175915242629