Help us with alternative schooling project in waterfall paradise in Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 359 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young(ish!) English couple with three lovely daughters (2,7,10) that moved to this wonderful part of Portugal to live a more simple and connected life. Our land has a house, old mill cottage, ruins and lots of woodland. A small river runs round the side of it and leads up to a series of waterfalls about 1km away. It really is magical. We run two not-for-profit organisations from our office in the nearby village and are also lead a homeschooling group with a group of local and international people, dedicated to happiness. We need your help with both the land and also volunteering with the children at the school as there are 9 children now attending aged 7 to 13, and there is a partner project with ore school children where we also need support just down the road. We use mix of Montessori and Waldorf approach. We are particularly in need of help in February to may 2020 . If you love kids and nature do get in touch! With love, Naomi and Gary

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    NGO skills, education / teaching skills (we have 2 trained Montessori teachers) gardening skills, animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for like-minded people to come and share our space and help us keep on top of the 1 hectare of land, animals and buildings. We are striving to produce as much organic food as possible but don't have as much free time as we would like and need some help with this, along with looking after the ducks, dog, fish, rabbits and chickens. Ideally you would help 6 hours a day for 5 days a week and the main tasks would be digging, weeding, planting, strimming etc. or helping with the schooling project depending on your skills.

    If you like working with children then you could also get involved in the school project, which aims simply to equip children with the skills that they need to be happy. So...... lots of different opportunities for you! We will be really happy to hear from you and see how we can best use your skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, basic Spanish and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a private room in an apartment in the village 10 minutes walk away, the village has cafes, cash machine, post office, restaurant and a good shop and bakers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whilst our place feels like quite a remote rural retreat, it is only 1 km from the nearest town - Espinhal - which has cafes, bank, shops, post office, buses etc. The waterfall - Pedra da Ferida - is at the top of our valley and can be easily reached along a track above our house, and there are lots of beautiful river beaches nearby. Also close to us is the white-washed castle town of Penela (3km) and Portugal's third biggest city - Coimbra (30km) .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 173575211118