Help on our lovely rural small holding and enjoy the surrounding green countryside, Welshpool, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Nigel and Rebecca. We live on a lovely small holding which is half broadleaved woodland, half pasture, with a stream running right by the house, 2 ponds, large veggie garden, orchard, greenhouse, two dogs, bees, and about 35 breeding ewe sheep and their followers including a reasonably friendly tup (ram) and an outrageously friendly pet sheep called Chumley! For about 6 months of the year we also have 60 or more lambs.

    Volunteers in the past have loved being here, many of them enjoying walking in our woods after work or taking a book and climbing up to the top of the hill to sit and read and enjoy the surrounding green countryside. The only buildings you'll see from here are the occasional farm buildings! It is very quiet!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been hosting volunteers here since 2010 and have had about 100 people staying with us (some of them more than once!). We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and often have some great discussions over dinner. A good level of English is necessary as we're pretty hopeless with languages! Our profile on another website has well over 40 five star reviews. In those reviews our volunteers often mention how they learn from Nigel who is always happy to explain and answer questions about our small holding and nature. For many of our guests, it has been their first experience of eating good vegetarian food - and they seem to enjoy it!

    We live in Wales, close to the English border, so there are places to go and visit in both countries. We were both born in England, and don't speak Welsh but you don't need to go far from here to hear Welsh spoken in the shops and streets.

    We have travelled a lot ourselves and worked as volunteers on farms in other countries in our younger days, so are pleased to be able to offer our place to travellers now!

    We usually make time to take our volunteers out for a day, perhaps walking in the hills or to the coast. However this is not possible during lambing time when we have to be around all the time.

    By the way, we welcome workawayers from all over the world and would like to mention that we voted to remain in the EU!

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with woodland management, gardening, preparation and maintenance of grazing land, weeding, planting, harvesting, general maintenance, perhaps light decorating, ironing, or indoor cleaning when it's raining hard....and whatever crops up! There may also be an opportunity to help us with looking after the animals including our active dogs. We expect some help around the house such as washing up after dinner and perhaps cooking the occasional meal.

    We normally expect our volunteers to help at least 25 hours a week although we are flexible on how those hours are spread out. We will encourage you to take some time out to visit local sites or perhaps go and experience the Welsh hills or coast for a couple of nights.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer accommodation in a refurbished 16th century cottage which is connected to the main house. This will mean you have your own sleeping & bathroom area though occasionally we may have other guests staying. It is a twin room and so if you are travelling alone, you will be sharing with another volunteer. If you are a couple, we will do our best to accommodate you in a double room, although it will depend on friends we may have coming to stay.

    Often using our own produce, we eat a healthy vegetarian diet (unless Nigel manages to smuggle in some sausages!) and we'll feed you well!

    We have wi-fi and you will get a good connection in your room. We don't have a signal here for mobile phones but you can just wander up our lane and will get one there! You are welcome to use our sitting room and we have a small selection of DVDs. Life here is quiet and pretty peaceful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We take time to enjoy the wonderful surrounding countryside. We are near to Powis Castle with its stunning grounds, the beautiful black and white village of Berriew, the ancient town of Montgomery, the Montgomery Canal (great for running and easy walking) and the Welshpool & Llanfair Light (steam) Railway. The Welsh mountains and coast are an easy day trip by train. The beautiful and historic towns of Shrewsbury & Ludlow are not far either.

    Of course the downside of being tucked away as we are, means that we're almost 2 miles from the nearest bus stop! But we are are happy to take you to the bus from the village or the mainline train station in Welshpool.

    We should also mention that we do keep bees. They do not cause us any trouble and you will not be doing any work with them. But if you have an allergy to bee stings, this is not the place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 167847293821